We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete Dump!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Avoid this motel! It's located close to rail tracks with trains running every few minutes. Motel is very old and rundown and located right beside high traffic road and rail track. I don't know how any body would pay $68 dollar for a terrible quality room.

Room Tip: Avoid this motel. Go to newly built Motel 6 which charges 66$ per night for quality rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ismail154992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roxy611, General Manager at Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that we could not meet your expectations during your stay with us in Kingston. Lets review your feedback:

You mentioned train noise coming from across the road. Yes there is a train that runs across the street but we wonder why you did not address this concern with the front desk staff when you checked in. When guests check-in, we always mention room preference. To address potential noise concerns we move our light sleeper guests to a quieter room by the waterfront. Please note that many hotels experience similar noise issues for some of their rooms with a variety of factors involved, some controllable while others out of their control. We are among a few hotels in the city situated near a train, yet we entertain thousands of satisfied travellers every year. In fact, the train also runs by other hotels such as the Ambassador hotel and comfort inn hotel to name a few. Yet, ambassador hotel is the biggest and one of the most popular hotels in the city for their conference and leisure facilities.

Secondly, the rate you paid was perhaps the one of the most economical rates in the city. I can personally guarantee this was the best price in the city for a comparable newly renovated room. The average daily rate for kingston hotels is $120 and reaches even higher during the summer season.

Above all, we would like to thank you pointing out these errors as it will allow us to better serve our guests in the future. All of your concerns are greatly appreciated and were strongly taken into consideration. On behalf of the management team, I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to errors from our management and ask that you give us another chance to accommodate you next time you are in Kingston. Please let me know if we can do anything else to improve our hotel and service.


Sincerely,

Roxanne Rehman
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 117 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

The name is deceiving! They cannot be described as suites in any shape or form!
The exterior is old and dirty - nothing like the website.

The room we had was very small - 2 double bed and no space for anything else.
There is only one chair but no table; on request they did provide more chairs.
The other one room units appear the same.

The toilet/bathroom appeared to be recently renovated - so its clean, but small. The toilet bowl looks new, but won't stop flushing.

The 'kitchenette' cannot be termed kitchenette. There is one small microwave oven - that's it.
The sink looks new but is so small that you cannot put a dinner plate in - it has to be tilted to be washed. Given that its a 2 double bed setting, there is only 1 knife and 1 fork an 1 spoon. THere are a couple of chipped plates.

Its next to a busy railway line.

This place is really awful - and its not cheap either at $69 + tax per night.
Don't bother!

Room Tip: My suggestion would be don't bother!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank accomreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roxy611, General Manager at Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Upon speaking with the front desk staff, we were given the following details.

Firstly, when you checked-in, you were shown a waterfront suite and a regular room with two double beds. Upon seeing these rooms, you did not choose the waterfront suite because its price was not within your budget. Our waterfront suites are some of our busiest rooms which is why they must be booked weeks in advance so for that reason there are no issues with the pricing. You were fortunate to find a waterfront suite available on the day of your check-in. However, you did not choose this suite and instead decided to stay in the regular room with two double beds when it was shown to you.

Our hotel's name is 'Bayside Motel Waterfront Suites' because 6 of the 22 guest rooms in our hotel are waterfront suites. So the name, "Waterfront Suites" is 100% correct. In addition, we have 4 more suite-type guest rooms. What surprised me is that you criticized the 'suites' name when you did not personally stay in a suite. The waterfront suite room that was shown to you has a separate bedroom and sitting area so how is that not a suite in any shape or form. Also you did not stay in a kitchenette room so that is why there was no kitchenette in your room. It seems very contradicting.

Thirdly, you personally choose to stay in the regular room with two double beds at $69/night when it was shown to you so I am curious as to why the room size issue was not a problem at the time and why you choose to rent this room when you thought it was too small. Moreover, whenever you requested anything you needed, it was provided to you by our staff and you were very happy with our services which itself seems again very contradicting. For example, when there was a problem with the toilet running constantly, the problem was fixed right away. When you requested more chairs, they were provided right away. Once again, It seems very contradicting.

You also mentioned the exterior of the buildings as 'being old and dirty" and "nothing like the website". The pictures posted on our website are 100% correct and everything about the hotel is exactly as stated in the pictures. If you noticed this, we question why you did not take pictures as part of an evidence of your claim.

Lastly, the $69/night rate you were charged for this room is very economical in Kingston and I can personally guarantee the best price in the city for a comparable newly renovated room with brand new mahogany furniture, new pillow top mattresses, LCD tv, spa bath amenities, microwave, fridge, free high speed Wifi, and free in-room coffee/tea. If you find a comparable room at this rate for the same dates, we will personally reward you for bringing it to our attention.

Sincerely,

Roxanne Rehman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The room was very clean, with A/C, and to my surprise a small kitchen area which really came in handy as I needed to keep some food frozen. Also, the wifi was extremely fast and accessible over the whole property. There is a really nice view of Collins Bay Marina.

Everything you need is within walking distance if not right across the road (Tim Hortons, Gas station, Laundromat, Bistro).

The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. My sailing class wasn't until 1:00 and they let me stay until the. In the room at no charge. I'm staying here again next weekend and really looking forward to it.

I recommend this small, family-owned motel to anyone staying in the area. You'll pay double for any big hotel chain and wouldn't get the same service.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roxy611, General Manager at Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thank you Shaun for your positive feedback. We are always striving to improve our hospitality to serve you better!

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forwards to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Value for the money.. Tony, Cherly and Mark catered to us the entire time we were there. They are in the midst of improving the place but the stay was well worth it. Beds are conmfortable and we stayed facing the lake so it was vey nice. Doesn't look like much from the street but don't be fool by this!I highly recommend it..great value for the money.

Room Tip: Some room facing the water...well worth it to take one of these!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobgeo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roxy611, General Manager at Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for our positive feedback about our hotel and staff. We are always striving to improve our hospitality to serve you better!

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forwards to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I am writing this review to show how much appreciation we have experienced through the hospitality at Bayside. They took very good care of us from the moment we checked-in. For the price we paid, we got a traditional hotel quality room that was complete with everything we needed during our stay. They lent us a hairdryer and an iron with iron board which was very convenient as we had to attend a wedding nearby.

Greg and Karla
Miami, Fl

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roxy611, General Manager at Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Hello Greg and Karla,

Thank you for our positive feedback regarding our hotel and staff. We are always striving to improve our hospitality standards to serve you better so you always feel at home.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forwards to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Neatly kept place and perfect to spend your vacation. The quick service was just what i needed. Trendy room with in-room coffee, extra pillows and best sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QB-lahore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roxy611, General Manager at Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for our positive feedback regarding our hotel. We are always striving to improve our hospitality to serve you better!

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forwards to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here at this motel. It was trendy and complete with all franchise hotel standard amenities and more. Will return in 2 weeks.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roxy611, General Manager at Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for our positive feedback regarding our property. We are always striving to improve our hospitality to serve you better!

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forwards to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 37 in Kingston
125 reviews
2.5 mi away
Green Acres Inn
Green Acres Inn
#3 of 37 in Kingston
311 reviews
8.8 mi away
Super 8 Kingston
Super 8 Kingston
#10 of 37 in Kingston
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ramada Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Kingston LaSalle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites

Address: 4024 Bath Rd | Located on the Corner of Bath Road and Collins Bay Road, Kingston, Ontario K7M 4Y4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range: $84 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set along the shores of Lake Ontario and conveniently located just minutes from the historic Kingston Ontario downtown, Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites is a waterfront boutique hotel that blends a warm and relaxing ambiance of a lakeshore theme with accommodations encompassing a tasteful decor, comfort, and class- making it an ideal choice to stay in Kingston for business, leisure, or your next romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Inn & Waterfront Suites Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing