We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most things ok”
Review of The Queen's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Queen's Inn
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed July 23, 2008

Good things:
- Quiet, clean
- friendly staff
- free wi-fi
- free parking (but only 2 parking lots,...)
- walking distance to port, promenade, restaurants

Bad things:
- Small room (but really nice and clean)
- No elevator (our room was on 2nd floor)
- Breakfast included but only toast, jam and coffee/tea

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LostHighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 112 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for two nights recently and would not recommend it to anyone. The room was tiny, they said it would be $119.00 a night but at checkout I was charged 139.00 a night. I could have slept in my car for all the room had to offer. Couldn't swing a cat in the bathroom, the shower door (there was no bath) dripped all over the floor after you had showered and opened the door. I'm only 5ft 2 and I felt cramped in the little bathroom. The pillows were very soft, there was no coffee maker, fridge or microwave in the rooms and breakfast was not included. The "ample" parking they mentioned on the website was room for two cars, outside a back door where the smokers from the two bars hung out.
On the upside, the female staff of the Inn were very nice, (the one man I met was a bit gruff and sarcastic). The rooms were airconditioned nicely, the bed fairly comfortable but I had only one option of getting in or out of the bed as it was pushed up against the wall. Not a very nice experience and also was disappointed with the city of Kingston itself and their lack of tourist information. I hads to almost drag answers out of the girl at the tourist info office. Don't bother with this city, or this hotel. Drive into Gananoque instead.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dansmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

We weren't sure what to expect out of this Inn, but turns out it was really nice. They spent the last 9 months renovating it and it looks fabulous. Very clean, very cute, quaint rooms. Great price in comparison to what's around in the area. I would totally stay there again. Just however, don't expect much out of the "included breakfast" which was toast and coffee.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Scrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for one night and were very pleased with the choice. Family owned and one of them are always there, very helpfull. There are only 30 rooms on top of the resturaunt, bar, patio below, small rooms but all renovated, clean and comfortable. The Inn is only three blocks from the waterfront, so just park and walk to this main area. Parking is tight at the Inn and would advise using the ramp parking 1/2 a block away, $2.00 overnight charge. A small breakfast was included, toast, juices, coffee etc. certainly enough to get you going. We went on the sunset dinner cruise from the harbor, very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fotoman0009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fulton New York
13
Reviewed November 9, 2005

We recently stayed at the Queens Inn and had a wonderful experience. The rooms offer the charm of a small European inn and are clean, carefully decorated and supplied with all of the needs of a traveler. The staff is friendly and helpful. Copper's has a cheerful atmosphere and you are only a stranger once. I would highly recpommend the Queens Inn if you are looking for a flavor of Kingston and true Canadian hospitality. It is also with easy walking distance of the farmer's market, the lake side and boutique shopping.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
kingston on
113
Reviewed October 10, 2005

I am an assistant coach for a Church Athletic League team. I have been with the team for three years, moving up with the core of the team. As a token of appreciation, the team manager solicited contributions from the parents toward a season's end gift. The three coaches were presented with a charming Susan Gervais card and a $125 gift certificate from the Queen's Inn. It was purchased on Feb 15(or so).
The coaches saved it until NHL hockey returned and used it on opening night. We used about $75 and expected, not cash, but around $50 in a gift certificate to be redeemed at a later date. The waitress(who received no tip in the ensuing confusion) had to check with the manager.
The manager informed us that we had a $25 gift certificate, with a 1 added to the front, to appear as a $125 gift certificate. We told him it was a gift from the kids/parents and that it wasn't a $25 certificate. He called us liars, said he made out this gift certificate and never made out amounts this high. He was calling the police.
After waiting quite some time for the police, we went to the lobby to speak to the manager/owner. We told him the team manager was the wife of a city councillor(Downes), and didn't collect just $25 from the parents. The parents had gotten a Queen's Inn gift certificate for us the previous year.
The police arrived and soon called the team manager (at 11:30) and got her out of bed. She remembered buying the gift certificate but was fuzzy on the amount. She was sure that it was more than $100.
The police strongly suggested we call it even. The owner claimed no records of gift certificate sales and was not compelled to produce any receipts. By this time the manager's husband(Rick Downes) had arrived to vouch for the character of the coaches. He too was surprised that no records were maintained. The owner was still maintaining that we had a $25 gift certificate. But he was willing to call it even.
We left when it became obvious the the owner of the business was not refunding the unspent remainder of our gift.
I am shocked that the owner of a business would stoop to this level, because he is too lazy or shortsighted to keep proper records. He called us liars and thieves in front of a bar full of people and offered no apology when it became apparent that we did not have a forged gift certificate. Enjoy the fifty dollars, the word of mouth advertising is priceless.

Brook Nadon
15 Dufferin St.
Kingston On.
K7K 1S6
brook_nadon@yahoo.ca
work 544 5222
home 544 0406



Stayed: October 2005
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 17, 2005

The Queens Inn has reimbursed these gentlemen the remaining balance on the gift certificate. I am sorry for the misunderstanding and I hope that they will patronize us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ottawa, Ontario
16
Reviewed June 28, 2004

A great little inn with old world charm. Limestone walls, slanting ceilings but clean and modern. The inn is located right downtown, steps away from Princess street. The lower floor features a sports bar and a quiet pub/restaurant with a patio. Staff are friendly and helpful. A welcome break from the big hotels and motels.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.2 mi away
Confederation Place Hotel
Confederation Place Hotel
#26 of 37 in Kingston
359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#12 of 37 in Kingston
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen's Inn

Address: 125 Brock St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1S1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range: $103 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Queen's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queen`s Hotel Kingston
The Queen's Inn Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing