We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, however...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge City Centre
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Ajax, ON
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel, however...”
Reviewed August 3, 2010

I went to this hotel with my husband. Everything seemed to be great. It was very clean, modern, and overall a very nice hotel. However, at night we realized how thin the walls were. Everything about this hotel was nearly perfect, but being able to hear every word of the people in the room next to you is not comforting at all. And of course, if you can hear them, they can hear you. For that reason alone, it was a bit of an uncomfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMnay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    37
    35
    17
    13
See reviews for
30
38
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Excellent value, in this recently-renovated budget motel. The place was clean and in good repair, though obviously an old motel building. The walls are thin (not soundproofed). But the room was surprisingly spacious and well-equipped, the bed was surprisingly good, and the staff were uniformly friendly, competent, and helpful. Even the free-breakfast was better-- I expected a few crummy doughnuts and watery coffee, but got juice, (cold) cereal, toast, good coffee, milk. The location is o.k., on the main road in town near a shopping centre, but not near downtown.
We visited colleagues -- who have a lavish expense account -- at the Radisson downtown. Their room was only slightly better, but it was three times the price of the EconoLodge.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for a conference at Queen's University, which was about a 20 min/half hour walk, or 5 minute cab ride. The room was somewhat cozy, but well organized and comfortable. In fact, the room was no smaller than a hotel I paid double the price for in Toronto. The front desk staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, and the continental breakfast was well done as well.
Kingston has plenty of Inns and B&Bs that are suited for couples and romantic getaways. But if you just need a place to sleep and relax, this Econo Lodge is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GradTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monflanquin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

A very clean room, looked newly refurbished. A good plentiful breakfast buffet. A little way out of central Kingston but only a 5 minute drive in.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Bad service!
Television did not work. They "forgot" to clean our room and did not change our towels. We complained. They told us, that we had bad luck and that it was not possible to compensate, because we had paid by internet.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbaragNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2009

The motel was undergoing renovation when we checked in. The carpark was big. The receptionist took the trouble to let me inspect the room and test the air conditioner before we rented the room. The room was spacious and appeared to be very clean. To my surprise, I found a huge mosquito in the toilet trying to bite me the next morning. After we left the hotel, both my wife and I found quite a number of red spots on our scalp. They were very itchy.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
1.4 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#23 of 37 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
3.9 mi away
Super 8 Kingston
Super 8 Kingston
#10 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.6 mi away
Confederation Place Hotel
Confederation Place Hotel
#28 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Thriftlodge Kingston
Thriftlodge Kingston
#16 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
4.1 mi away
Motel 6 Kingston
Motel 6 Kingston
#9 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge City Centre

Property: Econo Lodge City Centre
Address: 840 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1G3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Sunnyside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge City Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge City Centre Hotel Kingston
Econo Lodge City Centre Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing