We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Cheap Kingston Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge City Centre
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Cheap Kingston Hotel”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here for Saturday night of homecoming. Our goal was really just to find an affordable (not the 300$ everyone else was charging homecoming weekend) place to lay our heads within walking distance of Queen's and downtown. I have previously tried the Super 8 and quickly decided to try anything else. We got the Econo Lodge for about the same price, but the quality was worlds above.

Lots of free parking on weekends (although I understand there may be less on week days). Hotel room was a decent size and nicely appointed. Only 3 pillows for a King sized bed, but the bed was comfy if not amazing and everything was nice and clean. Carpets were fresh and bathroom was well scrubbed. Towels were a little small but clean. Overall it was a solid 3 star hotel. Everything worked well (tv, wifi etc) and staff were very friendly. There was also a desk and very comfy chair to sit on.

The hotel is a 20-25 minute walk down to the waterfront/ core of downtown, but it's a pleasant stroll or cheap cab ride. There is also a Tim Hortons, LCBO and Giant Tiger very close by.
This is definitely the best deal of the "downtown" Kingston hotels. You will likely pay at least twice the price to find anything better outside of the B&Bs.

We didn't try the breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    37
    35
    17
    13
See reviews for
30
38
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

When Hotwire gave me Econo Lodge, I have to admit, at first I wasn't thrilled. However, after spending a night there, the very friendly staff and owners made me glad I did. They were very accommodating and seeing as it's a small hotel, you felt known and cared for. For example, I made a special request to stay past check in and they were instantly obliging with no extra charge.
The hotel is on the main strip in Kingston and easy access to everything. The rooms were clean and functional, bed was comfortable. Breakfast was buffet and enough choices.
And the price was right!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fvzmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berry, NSWl
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed one night only. The room was large and clean and the bathroom adequate. The corridor smelled of cigarette smoke even though the motel was supposed to be non-smoking. We were in the room the minimal amount of time.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RapBerry_NSWl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Econo Lodge is a pleasant hotel in Kingston. The people are amazing, the service is great. For breakfast, you would have a large variety of food, even waffles ! The rooms are spacious, very clean as the cleaning service is done on a daily basis. Whether you are visiting Kingston with your friend and family or by yourself, you will find this hotel very convenient: a supermarket is located just in front of it, there are places where you could have good food around and it is not very far from Downtown or Queen's University Main Campus. The rates are very reasonable. I had a wonderful experience in Econo Lodge and it felt like home. I will strongly recommend this hotel if you are thinking of visiting a couple of days Kingston.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ibtissam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed 4 days and it was nice. It is cheap so don't expect too much. Everything worked fine i had no problems with the wi-fi, television or light. They renovated the rooms so it was confortable. The A/C worked good and the bed was very big and cousy. The poeple on the front desk were very friendly and patient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was the cheapest hotel in Kingston which was a stop over for the night. It was satisfactory because I was only sleeping there but had I expected more I would have been disappointed. The television didn't work, could not connect to wi-fi and I had to plug in all of the lights myself. The bed frame had a metal catch that was sticking out of the frame and was not flush to the bed. It could be dangerous. They also put a fifty dollar security fee on my credit card which I have not heard of before. The woman checking in was very friendly and quite pleasant. The woman checking ougt was not so pleasant. The bed was nice and comfortable which was all that mattered to me that night. Don't know if I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pxb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

this hotel in one word is dirty. the lights in my room didnt work, my sink was clogged up, my towels were used and my bed sheets were stained and looked more than slept in. Terrible one niight stay. I would have much rather slept in my car or spent extra to stay in a holiday inn. This hotel has no standards.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovethebeach155003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
1.4 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#22 of 37 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
3.9 mi away
Super 8 Kingston
Super 8 Kingston
#10 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Confederation Place Hotel
Confederation Place Hotel
#28 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Thriftlodge Kingston
Thriftlodge Kingston
#16 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
4.1 mi away
Motel 6 Kingston
Motel 6 Kingston
#9 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge City Centre

Property: Econo Lodge City Centre
Address: 840 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1G3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Sunnyside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge City Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge City Centre Hotel Kingston
Econo Lodge City Centre Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing