We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Cant believe it was only rated a two and a half star. It appears to have been newly renovated. We stayed at the hotel with 3 to a room. Rooms are large, beds and pillows are comfortable, big screen tv, microwave, mini fridge. Bathrooms were great.
Staff were extremely helpful. Eugene at the front dest noticed we had some wine and called up and asked if we would like a corkscrew!
Breakfast buffet was good, they provide bags if you are on the go.
Located just off the highway, with restrauants with in walking distance. There is an outlet mall across the street.
Although not down at the water (10minute taxi ride) great location as a central base.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ace0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 492 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2010

After a long journey on the road heading home, we pulled into this Holiday Inn & Suites.
Wow, the young chap at the desk was so friendly,he accomodated us into a king suite as a 'reward' from our long journey.

I am very picky with cleanliness and modern amenities. When we opened the door to our room...it was a 10 on the "WOW" factor. Everything was new.classy.CLEAN and inviting. Too bad we couldn't of enjoyed the room longer.
We've stayed at quite a few hotels in Canada/US and when you don't have to keep your shoes on and one eye open all night-well...that's a GREAT STAY. Also, these places charge you a rediculous amount of money for a dump-praying on your need to sleep.

The breakfast, which was complimentary,was fantastic for hotel food. The choice for healthy food versus the carboard waffles in the states...was VERY refreshing. The overall cleanliness was OUTSTANDING and hopefully the hotel will maintain this priority with all the nasty things we have to watch out for these days.

A big 10+ on our scale
PS:Bed was so comfortable we are looking into buying one for home-Best sleep EVER with a back problem.
Thanks Everyone for a GREAT STAY.

S,&K.
Ontario

We will most deffinetly be back again and will tell everyone we know to stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tropicalbeachpearl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We have always stayed down the road at the First Canada Inns. After 15 years of loyalty we decided to move on to this property as it is brand new. Although the nightly prices (we paid $160-170/night for 4 nights) are pretty high the actual hotel makes up for the crazy cost. We had a king suite. Everything smelled brand new and was top notch. The bed was extremly comfortable, even the pull out couch. We had a small kitchen in our suite with a stainless steel fridge, sink and microwave along with lots of cuppord space.

My only complaint about the room is that there was not fan in the bathroom, got steamy after showering. Other than that, it was a bit wierd that all suites also had door bells. We didn't have any problems, but I know what I would be doing late at night if I were a kid!

The breakfast was fantastic, having eggs and bacon was a nice touch. The staff were great. It was very busy when we were there, it was hard to get a seat for breakfast. We ended up waiting until around 9:30am-10am each day to arrive, wasn't quite as crowded. The parkinglot is also very small, if you are out and about and come back late at night, you may end up having to park at the Days Inn which is located next door. Other than that, top notch hote, will definitley return!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgrs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Stayed there for one night a couple weeks ago. Check-in was fast and front desk was welcoming. Hotel still looked brand new and the room was in pristine condition. Used the indoor pool which the kids had a lot of fun. Location is good as there are several restaurants very close by and a shopping plaza right across the street. Also very close to the highway. Overall, a great hotel and we had a great stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueskynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Stayed here for one night on our way home following a long trip.

Pleasantly suprised by the amenities: very comfortable room; good contiental breakfast; nice pool area and workut room; helpful staff; very good location for just getting on and off the highway.

This hotel was of good value for not being located in town. There are some nearby chain restaurants if you are looking for a meal too.

As a stopover, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familytraveller021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

New hotel in excellent condition. Conveniently located next to the 401. Lots of free parking surrounding the hotel. If you have a car it is a very short drive to downtown Kingston (about 5-10 minutes at most). Had two rooms, one accessible, one regular. Rooms/bathrooms spotless and comfortable; they had large refrigerators and microwave ovens for those who want to eat in their rooms. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms (on 4th floor) faced the back of the hotel, could see the 401 but did not hear any noise. Air conditioning worked fine. The fitness room was small, with one treadmill, one bike, one stepper and some free weights, so I had to wait to use the treadmill until the person using it before me finished. There are two televisions on the wall facing the exercise equipment but no individual screens on the machines. Didn't use the indoor pool but saw others using it and they seemed to enjoy it. Complimentary breakfast was ok. Choice of bananas/apples, packets of oatmeal, coffee, tea, milk, cereal, yogurt, juice, toast, pastries, bagels, hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon. Didn't like how the scrambled eggs tasted. Didn't try the bacon or hard boiled eggs. Everything else tasted ok. Was able to find a place to sit both days I was there although I noticed it did fill up to the point of no open tables. Overall excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Stayed here for 1 night in May while sightseeing. I asked for a room not facing the highway thinking that it would be quieter. I was wrong. The room that faced the parking lot of the Shoppers Drug Mart and other 2 roads was actually quite noisy and you could here late night traffic. That's the only complaint. The rest of hotel was A+. Our room was so clean and new, the chair and ottoman didn't even look like they'd been used. It really was that new looking. The hot breakfast was good too. Free internet also. Fridge and microwave. Large room with 2 queen beds. I'd go back here again for convenience to the highway, restaurants and Old Fort Henry (15 mins.)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2BoysHockeyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston

Address: 11 Benson St, Kingston, Ontario K7K 5W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kingston
#6 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: $116 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from downtown and adjacent to Highway 401, we are steps away from theatre, shopping and dining choices and offer spacious, well-appointed guest rooms and suites. Start each day with our complimentary Express Start breakfast featuring features hot and cold selections. Enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool and 24-hour fitness room. You'll appreciate the convenience of free WiFi and parking. Planning a meeting? Our Loyalist Meeting room is perfect for groups of up to 50. Visit our website for packages and special offers. Earn IHG Rewards Club Points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kingston
Holiday Inn Express Kingston
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing