We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, but a bit expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The reason we travel to Kingston so frequently is to visit our daughter at University..(we are typically there once a month.) This hotel is very nice...there is no doubt about it that I prefer to stay here...the staff are pleasant, the rooms are very nice and clean and even the morning breakfast is good. However, this being said, the price has continued to climb over the past couple of years and it's getting out of reach for parents that are already paying a lot of money for a child's education. Kingston is full of students and you would think all the properties would love to have their parents frequent their properties, but when I called and asked for a discount for a regular customer (and at the time, a Platinum Holiday Inn Card holder), I was told "no" that they don't offer such deals. It's unfortunate, but I am seeking out other less-expensive options.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 495 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed at the Kingston Holiday Inn Express after an accident caused significant delays on route to Toronto. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful while providing us with last minute accommodations for the evening. The studio suite we received was very clean and comfortable. We did however wish the curtains could be drawn fully as we were facing a plaza with bright lights. Despite that minor issue we had a wonderful stay and were pleasantly surprised with the variety of items available for breakfast the following morning. All though we don't frequent the Kingston area often we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PCMToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and would choose us again. I would also like to assure you that you can close the set of drapes behind the sheers fully as they are the black outs, the decorative top drape cannot be closed.We will look forward to welcoming you back as we are sure you will once again find the stay enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The hotel was very clean..perhaps because it is still quite new. We stayed for one night in a King size bed. The room had more than enough space for my hubby's Cycle. I was not comfortable keeping that in the car so they permitted us to bring it into the room.

The location is convenient to a Shoppers Drug Mart, Swiss Chalet, movie theatre, Subway....etc. There was no place to have a nice glass of wine...:(

Breakfast was included and it was pretty good. They served omelette, turkey sausage, pancakes, fresh fruit, cereals, muffins, cinnamon buns, ham....etc. Plenty of juice, milk, coffee and a variety of teas.

The exercise facility was fine. It was basic but good enough. Treadmill, recline cycle, elliptical and some free weights. The pool...really small. One push of the wall would get me to the other side. Hot tub was clean and temperature was satisfactory. Nothing to brag about but it was nice that they offered it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisaofottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are please you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you join us again if you are back in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Rooms where clean. View was nice. Price was reasonable. The rooms are a little dated but overall a good place for a 1 night stay. Nothing to right home about. The front desk staff where very nice breakfast was good.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Luiza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff was friendly. I was also happy you found pricing reasonable. We look forward to having you with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

***I did it again, I logged in with an old log in and posted my review there. So please note that this may seem like a double review, it is not.****



We needed to book a stay unexpectedly due to a death in my wife's family. We have stayed here before and never had any concerns. This time was no exception. All though, unlike another hotel in the area (The Ambassador), Holiday Inn did not have any special bereavement rates. When we found out The Ambassador offered this (126.00/night) I realized I could have saved a little bit of money by booking with them. I paid 190/00 for our stay. However, we still enjoyed our brief stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel during an overnight trip to Kingston. The room is exactly what we expected from a Holiday Inn Express. It is clean and comfortable. If you have stayed at other Holiday Inn Express hotels than it will feel the same. We stayed here (rather than the Holiday Inn downtown) due in part to the age of the hotel. The hotel is right by the 401 and our room faced the highway. We could only hear a very few number of trucks (those using airbrakes). I would recommend staying here if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stroudcrowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you return next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

My business hub, just off the 401 lling on business, you need a hotel quick, always ready to accommodate, even in the height of tourist season, I found this hotel to meet all of those criteria. The bonus is that you don't get stuck in the traffic downtown, you can just hop on and off the 401!

I have used this hotel as a hub for my 401 Corridor clients and it fits the bill perfectly. No issues with the room and it is directly across from a number of food and service businesses - right across the street, or you can just side next door to Denny,s if you don't have time to cross the street. l always get a good night sleep (I like a firm mattress), and the staff are great. I travel quite a bit and have not been disappointed yet staying here.

Room Tip: Pick the South side if you don't like traffic lights at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I would like to thank you for pointing out the convenient location and all the area has to offer. We will look forward to having you stay with us again when your business puts you in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
1.8 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
2.7 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston

Address: 11 Benson St, Kingston, Ontario K7K 5W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kingston
#6 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: $116 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from downtown and adjacent to Highway 401, we are steps away from theatre, shopping and dining choices and offer spacious, well-appointed guest rooms and suites. Start each day with our complimentary Express Start breakfast featuring features hot and cold selections. Enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool and 24-hour fitness room. You'll appreciate the convenience of free WiFi and parking. Planning a meeting? Our Loyalist Meeting room is perfect for groups of up to 50. Visit our website for packages and special offers. Earn IHG Rewards Club Points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kingston
Holiday Inn Express Kingston
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing