We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop-over for 1,000 Islands visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesex, UK
Level Contributor
162 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Good stop-over for 1,000 Islands visit”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We booked a 2-night stay in a king-bedded room via Ebookers, to visit the 1,000-islands on our trip down to Toronto. Holiday Inn Express and Suites was very easy to find just off the motorway. Check-in was easy, friendly and quick. We were allocated room 403 on 3rd floor (America/U.S. do not have ground floors). The room was a good size with a king sized bed with fridge and microwave. Wifi was included in the room price and was fast with a stable signal. Our room was fairly quiet and was at the back of hotel with a view overlooking the parking lot and some autumn trees.

For some reason we were allocated an ‘accessible room’ - I’m not sure why as this was not requested and we were concerned as the terms and conditions stated we could be moved if the room was required by someone with differing needs but in the event we did not have to move. The shower was a wet room style and had plenty of hot water and lots of towels.

Breakfast was included in our room price and there was a very good service with supplies refreshed constantly. I loved the pancake machine and breakfast had plenty of choice although fruit was limited to bananas. We were given advice to book our boat trip from Gananoque as it is much closer to 1000 islands and this was good advice. We had a 2.5 hour trip with excellent commentary. We ate in Grecos one night in Kingston town which was OK but not exceptional. For the second night we at ‘East Side Marios’ about a 5-minute walk from the hotel. This was a good quality diner, with a reasonable menu and prices.

Too summarise, we wished we had stayed in Gananoque as this area of Kingston is quite urban with little character. However, this is a good standard Holiday Inn and was well placed and adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaDurnford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your comments and look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    165
    40
    14
    20
See reviews for
179
125
19
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Although the hotel is quite nice, I was given a room on the first floor that was wheelchair accessible, which I don't need. Because it was on the first floor, you hear the constant stream of people leaving the hotel through the side door to the parking lot. As well, the shower had no tub (for the ease of wheelchair accessibility), so the floor was tapered to have water from the shower drain towards the floor drain. However, the hose style shower head would not lock in its position, so when showering, it would slowly turn towards the centre of the room and away from the corner of the shower, causing water build up on the floor. A lot of water.

It took some time to get used to the fan on the heater in the room, and the sounds of the fridge. My friend stayed in a wheelchair access room upstairs. Her room was so much bigger than mine, but she had the same water issues in the shower. I would have preferred a regular room, with a regular shower and tub set up. As an alternative, I thought I could simply sit in the hot tub down beside the pool, but that was out of service (drained, completely dry, with a yellow caution tape around it). For the money I spent, I was disappointed. When I complained at the front desk, the woman offered to take $10 off my bill. Big deal. Will rethink this one next time.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor. Ensure the shower has a tub too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wewillgofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments, I am glad you found the room comfortable but it is unfortunate to hear about the issues with the shower. If you would like to contact me directly I will be glad to talk about this issue to find a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
324 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Kingston, during our round trip through Canada and USA with our two sons. Driving from Ottawa to Toronto we decided to take a break in Kingston to visit Fort Henry. We went off the 401 freeway and we had a good feeling about the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. We were not disappointed. Check in was quick although we did not had a reservation. Staff was friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean and the breakfast which was included was fine. All in all it was a very pleasant stay and we do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tRAVellerOfTheW0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. I am please to hear the staff met your expectations and that your stay was so enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel was a great choice, the lobby and room are clean and attractive. The breakfast bar was very good, with lots of choices, and for me, an acceptance no carb breakfast. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed the room and the breakfast buffet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Really impressed with this hotel! Clean, modern rooms, comfortable bed, great hot breakfast with many choices, wonderful pool that my toddler enjoyed, and fantastic customer service!! We were also quite impressed that it was close by to many other stores/restaurants, such as Tim Hortons, Shoppers Drug Mart, McDonalds, Shell gas station, etc. Overall, extremely impressed with this hotel, and would DEFINITELY stay here again when we are in Kingston next! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michie_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. I am glad you found the location of the hotel and the surround area so convenient. We look forward to having you come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I stayed at this property for business. It was clean and modern. The free breakfast met expectations. The hotel is conveniently located just off the highway. WIFI worked well. No complaints.Check-in and check-out were quick and easy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a very convenient hotel just off Highway 401. There are many eateries within walking distance. The hotel is clean and modern and the room is a decent size with a lovely bathroom, lots of towels and Bath and Body Works toiletries. The TV wasn't the best and we were disappointed that the pool/hot tub weren't available (especially since that was one of the main reasons we booked this hotel). The staff was very pleasant and the breakfast (included) was awesome with a great selection of items and good coffee!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadiaRx57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
1.9 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
896 reviews
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
2.8 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
2.7 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
Address: 11 Benson St, Kingston, Ontario K7K 5W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kingston
#6 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from downtown and adjacent to Highway 401, we are steps away from theatre, shopping and dining choices and offer spacious, well-appointed guest rooms and suites. Start each day with our complimentary Express Start breakfast featuring features hot and cold selections. Enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool and 24-hour fitness room. You'll appreciate the convenience of free WiFi and parking. Planning a meeting? Our Loyalist Meeting room is perfect for groups of up to 50. Visit our website for packages and special offers. Earn IHG Rewards Club Points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kingston
Holiday Inn Express Kingston
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing