We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like bad service and food......” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whistling Walrus - CLOSED

Whistling Walrus
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you like bad service and food......”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Ordered the worst overpriced nachos ever..tasted terrible. ..service was so bad we had to ask the bartender for help...would never come back...only came to see the band Up Front!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nacho_man10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    4
    1
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterdown, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Can't comment on Food or Drink as we never did get served.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stopped in for a for drinks on a Sunday afternoon around 2:00 p.m. and sat up in the bar area. Only one other couple at the bar and another waiting for food at their table. Should have realized when I heard the couple at the bar ask for their bill from the bartender three times and not get it. We sat calmly waiting to be acknowledged and served. Couple waiting on food keeping looking for someone to ask about their food but it was a wasted effort.

Need get approached or served by the bartender or 3 waitress we saw standing around. As we left, my wife thanked a waitress "for everything"! and the response was "Thank you"! Many more pubs if the area that are willing to take your money. Never again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MtlHabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Food and Equally Terrible Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our food was cold and tasteless and served by a disinterested waitress who prefered to visit with another waitress than provide us with service. I strongly suspect that our food was cold because it sat and was not picked up by our waitress. We sent it back and when it came back, the meat was only minimally warmer and the mash potatoes were much warmer...not that anyone would want to eat them. The potatoes were some type of tasteless instant potatoe. Fake and horrible! So was the jelly-like gravy...did not taste or look remotely like gravy! I understand that restaurants can be busy but it was around 3pm and it was very slow with few customers. Maybe beer and wings late in the evening might be okay??? but as a restaurant it does cut it at all! We will never go to this restaurant again! Huge disappointment!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnitaC6364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
binbrook, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

The food here is great at breakfast, lunch and dinner time. I have started going a lot more often now and the only complaints I would have is small things like the waitress will disappear for a while then come back. I would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
2 reviews
“very disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Very personable waiter, but slow service, young manager on duty blamed the kitchen (not professional). She asked us what "we" wanted her to do, as opposed to offering to do something!!!! Table of 6 was served a varying intervals of 15 minutes to 1/2 hour, so were unable to eat together. A tray of drinks was spilled on a girl at our table, with much fanfare of apologies, but no offer to dry clean her clothing, or give her a discount of some sort (she had red wine all over her!!!!!). Food was mediocre - I had one piece fish and chips and the fish was approx. 1/4 oz..

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Faye L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whistling Walrus also viewed

 
Dundas, Hamilton
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing