We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hidden gem”
Review of Wild Orchid Cafe

Wild Orchid Cafe
Ranked #275 of 1,224 Restaurants in Hamilton
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Hamilton
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This place has great Portugese food. The seafood is all great, and the salads are too. Try the Petisco De Casa for a 'meat and potatoes' stew, Portugese style. The Picante salad is also amazing.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamester1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    37
    7
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“excellent seafood”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Seafood done in the Portugese way, what could be better? Friendly and good drinks as a bonus.

Helpful?
Thank GreatLakesroadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful patio and great prices!”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

My girlfriend and I came here on a whim and were definitely pleased with our decision. Although we had driven past it almost daily we had never eaten at the Wild Orchid. We decided to go and upon arrival were greeted instantly and seated. We sat on the patio and were able to enjoy the culture of James Street but were far enough back from the street to be able to talk freely without interference. We shared a pitcher of sangria and mussels. Both the sangria and mussels tasted very delicious. Overall the area, the view, and the cost appealed to us and we decided we would return before the summers end. A great place for an appetizer or drinks!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dario P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellenmt value for your money”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

WE stopped into the Wild Orchid on James st in Hamilton, for a quick bite after a hectic day.
When we got inside we were amazed at the size of the resteraunt, the extent of the menu and the friendliness of the waitress.
So we decided to stay for a complete lunch , from the soup,pass the entree, to the wine .
It was like as little bit of Portugal, it was fantastic.
We eagerly endorse this resteraunt and cannot wait until we can introduce our friends to it.
Steve Kendall

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve1336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Unmemorable food and service. Reasonably priced.”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Went on a Saturday night based on a recommendation from an acquaintance. Had a reservation and was seated at a great table. We enjoyed the following:

Sardines. $7. Nice size. Tasty.

Chorica Sausage. $8. Weak presentation. Okay.

Calamari. $9. Okay.

Massa Branca. Fettuccini Alfredo. $13. Okay. Was missing something. No cheese or pepper. Took the leftovers home and dressed it up.

Toss in a few drinks. $51 + tax + tip.

Our server was very personable but had a tendency to disappear for lengthy periods of time. Shame as the restaurant wasn't busy.

This night was a miss. Would recommend Adega in Toronto for Portuguese food.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank bedhead57g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Orchid Cafe also viewed

 
Hamilton, Ontario
 

Been to Wild Orchid Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing