We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't let the location fool you, the steak is fantastic.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shakespeare's Steak House

Shakespeare's Steak House
Ranked #85 of 1,213 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ancaster ON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't let the location fool you, the steak is fantastic.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

For years I have been hearing about this restaurant but have never really wanted to venture into downtown Hamilton to try it out. Friends told us they have been going for years and we must try it out. Well I am glad we did. The food was exceptional as was the service. Its old school in there but that's what I liked about it. dark with old wood panel walls and severs constantly pouring wine, replenishing bread etc. Not once did we wonder where our server or our food was. The Blue cheese dressing on the salad was amazing as was our steak. There could have been more toppings for the potato but who needs carbs anyway when the steak is huge and done to perfection. No sure what the rub on the steak was but I loved it. We will go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    34
    5
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Steaks & Service.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Shakespeare's is my favourite steak restaurant in the Hamilton/Burlington area.

The meat is cooked to the way that my wife & I prefer. The service is there, but not pretentious. By that I mean that if they see that you need asssistance, they are at your table before you ask, instead of being in your face. Our wine glasses were never empty.

The shrimp cocktail, bacon wrapped scallops & the calamari are our favourite appetizers. Some of the steaks come in different sizes, depending how hearty your appetitie is that day.

You can dine at lunch or at dinner. either way, you'll enjoy it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“exploring steak house in Hamilton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

On a suggestion from the concierge, we visited Shakespeare. Parking across the street, interior decor is warm and inviting. Service was performed in a traditional full class manner. Gino, our server is a career warrior who truly cares about our dining experience. Rib eye and sirloin were ordered. Warmed bread, salad, and were prepared expertly. Overall, a great place!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leonlikes2cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“first time since the 70's ticks all the boxes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our family were regulars way back in the 70's. We went this trip and enjoyed the experience. The atmosphere was traditional steakhouse rich dark woods, and the best garlic toast ever. The staff all long timers made an evening of quality food, perfect presentation live up to expectations. I would recommend a return visit sooner rather than later.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JRFraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby ont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dinner out with Mom.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The meal was very good. It was dining like it should be when you want to go out for a good well appointed dinner. White linen, silver cutlery and waiters in tie and vest. I wonderful change from all the casual dining experiences.
I had pepper steak done with peppercorns not the usual red and green peppers and it was done just as I asked for it. The vegies were fresh not frozen and the baked potato came with lots of sour cream and feta cheese which was a nice surprise. It is okay to have once in a while.
All in all a very enjoyable dinner experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 56carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shakespeare's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Shakespeare's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing