We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papagayo

Papagayo
Ranked #248 of 1,213 Restaurants in Hamilton
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Hamilton
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We were a group of 8, most have never been to Papagayo before. The potato jalapeno soup was amazing. Creamy and a nice amount of heat. Food was timely and delicious! The seafood dishes in particular had great praise form our group. Will definitely return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobananka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    32
    20
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“yum is all i can say!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

very good mexican restaurant at a great price and friendly service location is very near the staybridge and i would def go for the burrito it was delish!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank torontogirl6910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good as I recalled”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We went for a preshow dinner and looked up reviews to see if it was still there and good. Some reviews were negative but we went anyway and are now glad that we did. Calamari, soup, house salad, fish of the day, chimichanga and even paella were all good. Sauces were also nice. Youngish server was attentive and knowledgeable and owner was floating about asking if things were OK. $40 each including bottle of wine and two beer. They were better than OK, nice Mehican food with french twist. Thumbs up again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GreatLakesroadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Thomas, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I visited this restaurant two days ago before an event in Hamilton and I am still feeling the effects of it. I love mexican food but this was awful. We chose the restaurant because it got very good reviews but I'm not sure who was writing them because our experience was incredibly poor.
Firstly, the decor of this restaurant was DISGUSTING. There was paint peeling off the ceiling and everything was mismatched and outdated. We were told our wait time would be 10-15 minutes for a table but we ended up waiting for 45 minutes!!! Once we were seated (at a very tiny table that was situated right outside the very busy entrance to the kitchen) we were shocked at the prices on the menu. I ordered the enchiladas that arrived soggy with some unknown brown sauce on it. The re-fried beans were the most disgusting blackened looking things I had ever seen. Even my sangria was bad. Room temperature. The ice cubes melted immediately. The guacamole was nothing but mushed up avocado (no garlic or tomatoes). When we were leaving the restaurant, there was a tiny table set up in the lobby with two men eating at it! I commented and the servers said, "I don't think we're actually allowed to let anyone eat out here but the cook doesn't like to send anyone away".
I will NEVER EVER eat at this restaurant again and feel badly for anyone who does!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Food with Hints of Unique Touches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was planning to go to Mex-I-Can for dinner, but they did not take credit cards, so I ended up going to Papagayo, and I am really glad I did. First some background ... I have been to "industrial" Mexico several times (Mex City, Queretaro, Monterrey), so I am familiar with authentic Mexican food.

First the decor was much more pleasant than the other place -- much cleaner, much more welcoming. The traditional chips + salsa were unique with what seemed like a dusting of chili powder and seasoning salt -- a really good combination. I added guacamole, which was average but good. The serving of guac was a bit on the small side, but not completely disappointing. The salsa was salsa verde, and I'm not a big fan of verde, but this was very good.

I then had the enchilada platter for dinner. The platter had 3 enchilidas plus rice and black beans. Rice and beans average to slightly above average. Enchilada were chicken, beef and chorizo with mole and verde across all 3 enchiladas -- just covering part of the enchilada -- not swimming in salsa. The enchiladas were quite tasty because of both the filling and salsas, although the chorizo sausage was not "great" -- tasted more like a hot dog than chorizo. But overall it was a good dish.

The price was not cheap, but after visiting other restaurants in the downtown Hamilton area, the prices typical for the area. The meal adding guacamole, the platter dinner, and a michelada with tecate totaled ~30

So after a brief visit to Mex-I-Can, I would definitely recommend Papagayo based on the atmosphere. I cannot comment on a food comparison, but Papagayo is going to be difficult to beat. So if you are looking for Mexican food in the Hamilton area, I would recommend Papagayo.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cvg_day_cmh_triad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papagayo also viewed

 

Been to Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing