We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service great, Il Fornello in Oakville better for pizza”

La Cantina Ristorante
Ranked #111 of 1,234 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Service great, Il Fornello in Oakville better for pizza”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Veronica was an attentive, efficient, knowledgeable server. Grilled vegetables with goats cheese was a light appetizer. Had two different kinds of pizza. Both were very, very salty, which detracted from the meal. Il Fornello in Oakville and of course Libretto in Toronto are far superior for wood oven pizza.

Restaurant is quiet, so nice for a romantic meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4931_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    57
    13
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Every time my husband and I want to celebrate an occasion or take guests to an authentic Italian restaurant- this is it!!. We have travelled many times to Italy, and the meals cannot compare.
La Cantina is as close to an authentic pizza, pasta and atmosphere as you can get here in Canada. Enjoy chin chin!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tuscandreamer_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Amazing Place!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I had an anniversary dinner here recently, on the advice of some friends who live in the area. Have to say, the place did not disappoint. The food's simply delicious, the service impeccable, and the decor tasteful. My wife had the farfalle primavera and I had the gnocchi alla gorgonzola. Both outstanding and the portions were generous to say the least, yielding lunch for both of us the next day. We were too full to try desseert, unfortunately.
Highly recommend this place if you're in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elwood2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“great food and service”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

three of us went for dinner during the week. It was busy but we got a table right away. The server was excellent and everyone still talks about the meal.
We'll be back

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“For great Italian food, eat at La Cantina”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

There are several different rooms in this complex, and all have a lovely atmosphere. Whether it's the red tile floors in the main dining room, the pizza section where you can watch the pizzas being prepared and cooked, or the outdoor seating in a sheltered patio during the summer - this restaurant is a winner in my book. The quality is usually dependable and there is a wide choice of Italian specialities - if I remember correctly, they serve my favourite meal, cannelloni, which many Italian restaurants do not offer. Best to make a reservation if you plan on eating here on a Saturday evening.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wynyfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantina Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to La Cantina Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing