We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”

La Cantina Ristorante
Ranked #113 of 1,233 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Hamilton
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a place that we keep going back to because we know we will always have a excellent meal. We have never, ever been disappointed.
From appetizers to the main course the quality is consistent. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank EveHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    57
    13
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great value.”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Loved the veal meatballs. Very healthy size dish of pasta and cooked just right, al dente. So mush so, that i believe they could take about a quarter of the dish out and still be plenty. Four huge meatballs and a tasty sauce. The bread was served fresh and hot. The atmosphere was cute and the service was pleasant. Overall, good value for the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Open_Road_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average Italian Food, with Noise”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

To be honest, I don't understand the popularity of this place. The food is OK, I suppose - nothing fantastic, and overpriced. The service is average, but the wait times to get a table are a little silly. What irks me about this place is the noise level...it's like dining at a roadside bar - definitely anything but relaxing. I shouldn't have a hard time hearing my dining companions at my table.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank treeshaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food, but that's it!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I used to love this little place. It was a gem in the city, and I'm not sure what happened. On a recent business lunch, upon arrival, the hostess looks at us and says "dinning room or bar?". No hello, no "Welcome to La Cantina", nothing.

When our waiter came, he did not make eye contact with me once, he spoke only to the male I was eating with. It was very noticeable and uncomfortable.

The food, its fantastic, but if you're not getting take out, don't bother.

The parking is annoying since it is hard to come by, and it is hourly paid (although this is common for the area, it is good to know).

The food was good, so again, take out, but that was it.

Even the pop that was order came out tasting watery. The lunch was expensive for two pizzas and truly not worth it for an unwelcoming, awkward time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ItsMrsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was a few years ago”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I recently had a business dinner for ten at La Cantina. We went here based on prior visits. The quality of the food is significantly below prior visits and not worth the prices. The grilled calamari was so rubbery it was inedible. The steaks were average and the pasta dish arrived lukewarm. The service was a little slow. There are better Italian restaurants in Hamilton. I will try somewhere else next time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mcangemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantina Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to La Cantina Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing