We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashioned Good Food”
Review of Black Forest Inn

Black Forest Inn
Ranked #7 of 1,227 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Good Food”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Black Forest is a tradition of schnitzel dinners and the setting with all the cuckoo clocks is delightful.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank blessedt0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    197
    58
    15
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best there is for schnitzel”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Not only is the food excellent the service is a plus!
The Black forest also gives unlimited rye bread and butter with your meal and there are not many places to eat that do that anymore. The food has never disappointed us and I for one have been coming here to Hamilton to the Black forest since coming to Canada many many years ago.
You will never go away hungry the portions you get with your meal are by far the best.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marty&Marlena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We used to eat at the Black forest Inn many years ago. I have since moved away, and on my return, I find that the standards haven't slipped at all. Everything was delicious. I love the way the staff dresses. Makes it even more authentic. Great portions, great value. I highly recommend this place to every one.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gluecipher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, ON
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Always consistent, great portions, great service, neat atmosphere and always worth it. A must try. Great soups, cold beer and good prices on the wine - family or just a night out

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RJJMBook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I had the Chicken Scnitzel”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

As soon as you walk through the doors you know you are in for a treat. Lovely dressed staff make you feel at home and spoiled right away and the food is just like mom used to make. I suggested it to my guests and they were very impressed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ingelbert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Forest Inn also viewed

 
Hamilton, Ontario
 

Been to Black Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing