We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Courtyard Hamilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Hamilton
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed July 15, 2009

This is our second time staying at this hotel. Wonderful experience again. Location was great for us. Close to our family and convenient to highways. The courtyard and lobby are fantastic for hanging out with friends and family. I loved the 24 hour complimentary coffee in the lobby. We had breakfast here one morning. Tasty, though pricey.

The pool was clean but small. The kids didn't seem to mind though.
The rooms are clean and well appointed. I liked having a small refrigerator. Very nice layout and complimentary internet. If you forget your laptop, no worries, they have 2 in the lobby for the public use.
The staff was FANTASTIC.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    113
    31
    7
    12
See reviews for
71
46
27
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

We stayed here for two nights over Easter weekend. I'm originally from Hamilton mountain and know there is not very many hotels to choose from in the area. We had tried other hotels (not good experiences) and a B&B (not comfortable with the concept, may be okay for others). The room was very clean, maid was nice and friendly, pool was good, workout room was not up to par (eliptical was not working, not enough weights for strength training), there was no one at the front desk when we got there (had to wait around with a guy delivering pizzas)...this was only minor though. All in all a good hotel and we will stay there on our next trip down.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wontstayput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2009

We had to travel on short notice for a funeral. The hotel staff were very pleasant and accommodating for us. The facility is very clean and up to date. The available internet access in the lobby was welcome.
The room we had was well laid out, and the bed was awesome. The bathroom was large and quite bright.
The breakfast buffet was quick and easy. My wife used the menu th esecond morning, and enjoyed the food.

A niece at the funeral indicated that her company suggests this facility for all of their out of town visitors.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netsengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

I recently stayed here for a nearby wedding with a lot of friends. The rooms were very nice and clean. The hotel is close to a lot of different restaurants. It has a complimentary shuttle that we used to get to the wedding venue. We used the hot tub and pool and they were fine. Excellent customer service, after we left and drove home I realized that I had left my cell phone charger, I called and left a message. My message was returned the next day and they put my charger in the mail for me. I would definitely stay again if I was in the area. It was a little bit pricey though even with the "wedding discount".

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickiford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simcoe
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2009

I stayed here last year as my husband had surgery in Hamilton. I felt very safe. The hotel was very clean. I enjoyed having the internet services. All in all a very nice place.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sawako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
185 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2009

We had a very nice one night stay at the Courtyard Hamilton. The staff was very nice and very understanding as we were upgraded to a better room (since we had problems at an other property the night before). The room was big and clean. The hotel is also fairly new and well kept. The staff was very helpfull and friendly. We will book it again if we have to go to Hamilton in the future!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J9257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2008

A nice new Courtyard located up over the escarpment from downtown Hamilton. It must only be a few years old as everything is new and seems to reflect the room and hotel design of the newer Marriott properties.

It is clean and tidy, Our room was spacious. Staff was helpful and friendly, but then all we needed to do was check in and check out.

No complaints. Now if they only threw in a complementary breakfast it would be ideal!

  • Liked — nice rooms
  • Disliked — slightly out-of-the-way location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HimselfNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Staybridge Suites Hamilton - Downtown
Visitors Inn
#6 of 20 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
The Barracks Inn
#1 of 2 in Ancaster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hamilton

Property: Courtyard Hamilton
Address: 1224 Upper James St, Hamilton, Ontario L9C 3B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Hamilton 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Marriott, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Hamilton Courtyard
Courtyard Hamilton Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing