We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stay, But.....”
Review of Courtyard Hamilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Hamilton
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Stay, But.....”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

The Marriott is a nice hotel and the rooms are clean. The staff was friendly and the location was convenient for our trip. In addition, this hotel did not charge for parking like some of the other hotels we looked at.

The downside to this Marriott is that they don't offer free breakfast like most other Marriott's. Actually, I cannot remember the last time I stayed at a Marriott that did not include breakfast. Breakfast was offered for $13.00 for an adult and $6.00 for kids. Our room had a noisy bed frame. Every time the kids moved, it was a loud noise. We did not use the pool, but small and from the window did not look super clean (could have just been lighting).

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank V3RSPE10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Hamilton, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
V3RSPE10,
Thank you for writing a review from your visit to Courtyard Hamilton. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and found our friendly staff, convenient location, and clean accommodations well suited for your travels. We sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of meeting your expectations. Your feedback on these areas are important to us as guest satisfaction is our highest priority. We value your business and do hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Brian Lubbers, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    113
    30
    7
    12
See reviews for
70
46
27
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed two nights. Under construction for some renovations, but couldn't hear anything from my room. Free coffee/tea in lobby.

Breakfast was good, friendly staff. Clean, Wifi good, no complaints.

Would stay again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Hamilton, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Gary G,
We appreciate you selecting Courtyard Hamilton, and we thank you for writing a review. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our service and amenities to meet your satisfaction. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Brian Lubbers, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Level Contributor
346 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed in a king suite with jacuzzi and sofa bed suite for one night as we were in town visiting family. Nice open concept room with separate living room area with separate tv (another tv in bedroom area). Very clean room with jacuzzi tub right beside the bed. The hotel was full on this weekend, but while in the room we heard nothing, nice and quiet. Room also had a microwave and small fridge which was a nice plus. Workout room and pool/hot tub on main floor near lobby. Got to use the pool and hot tub but the workout room was very busy as there appeared to be a hockey team staying at the hotel too. Just machines, no free weights. Reservation included free internet and buffet breakfast for two. One of our family members came to have breakfast with us, cost of about $13.00 for buffet breakfast. They had a separate omelet making station where a cook made your omelet to order, another nice touch. Very comfortable lobby and restaurant areas, lots of seating and a nice outside area with waterfall going down rocks. The hotel is located on the upper part of Hamilton, lots of outdoor parking, close to lots of shopping and restaurants. I generally book another hotel in downtown Hamilton as family is close by, but would have no hesitation in booking this hotel again.

Room Tip: King suite with jacuzzi on top floor (401) end of hall, nice and quiet, lots of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuskokaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Hamilton, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
MuskokaMan,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your experience at Courtyard Hamilton. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while in town visiting family, and we're glad our accommodations, location, and amenities made for an enjoyable stay. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Brian Lubbers, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

It was a nice enough stay, friendly staff and the a clean room which is all you really need. We were in town for a wedding and it did the job, but I would not vacation here... No room service and currently only serves breakfast which end WAY to early .. There is a selection of restaurants near by so its not the end of the world. Pool was small.. but if your in town only for a night or two for a function then I would recommend it. I must say I was impressed with the room and bathroom size!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADP147255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Hamilton, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
ADP147255,
Thank you for your review. We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.
Yours truly,
Brian Lubbers, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

clean hotel good for business and family travelers. Staff are very very nice. Hotel is ready for a major first floor renovation to be turned in to the Bistro starting in November to be consistent with other Marriott Courtyards throughout the USA and Canada.
features:
Jacuzzi / pool
breakfast buffet / bar
gym
courtyard ( in the back )

Room Tip: 4th floor is a quiet only V.I.P level some suites have jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murph Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Hamilton, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
MurphBoston,
Thank you very much for your review; it’s great to know you enjoyed the hotel and we can’t wait to see you again!
Yours truly,
Brian Lubbers, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were attending a wedding near by and booked here as its where the wedding party were staying. Price was slightly higher than I expected however when we checked in I seemed less concerned with this. The staff were very helpful, got us directions to the nearest bank branch and to the Wedding location faster than I could have done myself on Google Lobby and lounge/bar were nice and the Courtyard at the Courtyard Marriott was very nice as well. Our room was very clean, and even the bathroom was better than most hotels I have stayed in (I travel a fair bit, bathrooms are a pet peeve of mine, 4 star or "no-tell motels, not much different most of the time) Considering we were only looking for a place to sleep we were very happy. My only issue was the TV channels all had static.

Tip: The hotel has two wings, so when staying with friends who are in another room, when you check in, make sure you are in the same wing, we thought we were right next or across from our friends based on room numbers, but it turned out we were on the far end of the complex.

Room Tip: Tip: The hotel has two wings, so when staying with friends who are in another room, when you check i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Hamilton, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
William C,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your stay with us at Courtyard Hamilton. We're happy to have had you as our guest while in town for a wedding, and we're pleased to know our helpful staff and clean accommodations exceeded your expectations. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Brian Lubbers, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

At the price we paid, it was certainly not value for the money. We arrived around 1am and checked in, there was a bored staffer working who wasn't really paying attention. We checked in and then went back to the lobby to buy some drinks. Again, the staffer couldn't tell me how much a bottle of orange juice was and then said his computer was broken and couldn't price it so he gave it to me for the price of a pop. After getting back to the room we found it to be spacious inside, but our TV remote was not working properly and would sometimes jump channels or not respond. Bathroom was large but strangely laid out - the shower has only 3 walls and a curved floor pointing to the drain, so water spilled out while using it the next day. There was a large group of teens staying on our floor who were loud and running a lot - the noise carried into our room until they went to bed, after 3. Checking out was also easy, and staff were generous in letting me park my vehicle there the day before our booking. It's expensive, but the location is good and it's probably the best hotel on Upper James.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanFromHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Hamilton, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
RyanFromHamilton,
Thank you for writing. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of exceeding your expectations. I have addressed your review and valuable comments with our staff so we can make improvements for a more positive stay. I'm glad you found our location well suited for your travels, and we do hope you'll visit us again the next time you travel to the area. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Brian Lubbers, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Staybridge Suites Hamilton - Downtown
Visitors Inn
#6 of 20 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
The Barracks Inn
#1 of 2 in Ancaster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hamilton

Property: Courtyard Hamilton
Address: 1224 Upper James St, Hamilton, Ontario L9C 3B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Hamilton 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Hamilton Courtyard
Courtyard Hamilton Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing