We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A strong reminder” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of HMCS Haida National Historic Site

HMCS Haida National Historic Site
Ranked #3 of 148 things to do in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This WWII Tribal Class destroyer is now a floating memorial and naval museum.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A strong reminder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

A strong reminder of our warrior past. A floating piece of history the last of her kind. The Haida is a great history lesson for the kids that they can walk her decks and learn about what it means to be Canadian. We don't like to glorify our warrior past but the facts remain the same when the chips are down the world has called on us and we have come and held our ground when others failed too. We need to be reminded of this once in awhile.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank UncleDu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    73
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
185 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A Great Attraction That Is Very Inexpensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

These days when it costs a small fortune for a family to visit many attractions it is nice to see that part of our proud Canadian history can be viewed at a reasonable fee. The HMCS Haida is a grand reminder of our servicemen who protected our freedom in past conflicts. The ship can be toured from ships quarters to engine room at your own leisure. Some areas require climbing up and down narrow ladders and not friendly to non agile persons but my wife was able to tour other parts of the ship without difficulty. For those who are history buffs this is a definite must. Several children we encountered seemed to be enjoying the tour. The staff are also very friendly and answer any questions.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RockhoundParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Ontario.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hamilton Harbour Delights!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Hamilton Harbour is famous for its Tall Ships which is a national sight to see. You get to learn about the sea and what it is all about. Hamilton is a large port known across continents and would recommend that people, especially Hamiltonians along with tourists get to know this part of the City and the Province of Ontario.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank liz487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A step back in time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

On our visit we were surprised at how difficult it would have been to walk (or run) around this ship. The ladders between decks are vertical, the spaces narrow and sharp corners would have ensured sailors lots of bruises in rough seas! it cannot have been a pleasant existence in rough weather. For my money, this is a MUST SEE attraction when visiting Hamilton. The technology they had to work with, though state of the art at the time, but relative to today's communications systems, was very rudimentary. Be sure to take your camera and don't wear high heels!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank logonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Canada's most distinguished WWII ship”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The World War II career of this Canadian tribal class destroyer was outstanding in terms of enemy vessels sunk in ship-to-ship combat mostly in the English channel. Notches carved into the open bridge railing attest to this. Haida also served as a train buster in the Korean war shelling costal trains from the sea. After its retirement as an active ship in the Royal Canadian Navy, It was restored initially by volunteers and then Parks Canada to its WWII condition. Several men who served on Haida (as I once did very briefly) give guided tours of the ship. This is a not to be missed attraction.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HMCS Haida National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to HMCS Haida National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing