We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a very good experience here! The place is beautiful, the lobby and rooms are brand new. The rooms are spacious, and very clean. The staff was very courteous. The only thing I didn't appreciate was that the walls seemed thin, I heard people peeing in the bathroom upstairs, then a toilet flush sound, way too many times while I was trying to sleep. The breakfast was very clean and attendants were very nice, but the food was not that great. My husband liked it but the eggs were odd, probably made from powdered eggs or liquid, and there was a strange white meat sausage patty. The yogurts were all one kind, with artificial sweetener, which we don't eat. The only thing pretty good about the breakfast was there was a self serve waffle maker which turned out good waffles. Otherwise I didn't think they did a good job making this a hot breakfast or offered enough pastry/bread type choices. The fact that it is new made it a very nice visit but the price was not that great of a value for what it has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabrielsMom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    181
    40
    27
    19
See reviews for
258
123
23
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pickering
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here while attending an event at the Hamilton Convention Center and were quite pleased with the facility. We booked a suite and it was amazingly large considering the price. The mini kitchen was hardly mini with a comfortable breakfast bar, a full sized dishwasher and all the amenities to cook a proper meal. And, unlike similar hotels, along with the coffee and tea there was a bag of microwave popcorn which was a real treat to find.
The room easily held the three of us, and I slept on the pullout, which was surprisingly comfortable.
The bathroom was large, with a full shower (the footprint of a tub), lots of room to move around in and beautiful tile work.
The light in the bathroom though, was an LED and it took a good few minutes to brighten up enough to see what you were doing; we left it on overnight so no one had an accident.
The towels were big (really big) and fluffy.
The whole hotel was beautifully decorated and clean. The computers in the lobby were state of the art with large screens and a printer for boarding passes and the like. The lobby itself was very elegant.
It was also quite the surprise to find that breakfast was included in our room rate; and it was quite well put together with a typical buffet fare, including make your own waffles; though the line was a little large for me to try. I also discovered that Sunday through Thursday dinner is also included in the room rate; and judging by the menu it looked quite nice.
Considering the proximity to the convention centre this hotel would be an excellent choice for conferences, and would certainly save a company quite the amount of 'per diem' costs for meals.
The staff we saw were all very helpful and pleasant.
Perhaps the only things that I could comment on would be that I couldn't seem to adjust the in-room thermostat so it was a little on the cooler side in the room than I would have preferred, but not enough that I needed to call anyone to fix it. And the parking garage needs a little better signage; that first ramp is a little nerve wracking to navigate.
Overall an excellent facility.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJ-37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Thank goodness, a new quality hotel in downtown Hamilton. Always dreaded staying in downtown for business but with this modern hotel with easy access for parking it makes it much easier to visit and stay. Hotel staff was great and very helpful with all requests.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travel4FunCDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Breakfast and light supper were great, but the hotel lacks adequate parking for handicapped, one of two elevators broke down and people who could not negotiate stairs were stuck on their floors not able to attend event. There are no fans iat all in the bathrooms, no service elevators making Housekeeping compete with guest for space on the one working elevator. There is a charge for drinks at the "Manager's Reception", New hotel may have growing pains, but how do you install additional elevators, fans, lights, and parking after the opening?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivera R, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Rita S,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton hotel.

I appreciate you commenting about our parking and adequate accessibility. We are taking your comments into consideration as we revisit our Accessible Parking locations and the ease of hotel access for guests with disabilities.

As far as the elevators –they do get congested at times especially with one elevator out of service, otherwise they function quite fine. A person with a disability could contact our Guest Services and we would make it a priority to ensure the guest is able to leave their floor and attend their event. I do apologize that you experienced an inconvenience with one elevator being out of service.

I am glad that you enjoyed our complimentary Breakfast and Light Dinner and I hope that other aspects of our product and service met and exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Hamilton.

Sincerely,

Olivera Radisic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Really nice, spacious rooms with great option to keep light meal/snack options on hand in kitchenette with full-sized fridge! Staff responded right away for request for some extra towels etc. Great location for our purposes. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Liga G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Homewood Suite in downtown Hamilton must be brand new. It still has that new car smell", and everything is modern, bright and shiny. The staff deserves kudos for their helpfulness and professional manner. IF they are new to the property, you'd never know it, as their demeanor is polished and well-seasoned. I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivera R, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Elizabeth S,

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton hotel and that you took the time to share your experience.

We truly pride ourselves in our staff, most of them as new as the hotel itself. Your comments are greatly appreciated and have been shared with all staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,



Olivera Radisic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed her on an overnight trip from Canada back to Boston. The hotel is large, but has a trendy boutique hotel feel and decor. We had a corner king suite that was large with full kitchen and bathroom. Overkill for us on an overnight road trip, but it was great. Parking was underground and $8 and the pet fee was $100. This was one of the highest I've paid, but is one time if you are staying for an extended time. For an overnight trip lasting 12 hours, it was pretty steep.

The area is a downtown location that is very busy with restaurants and has lots of traffic even at night. Not a lot of immediate areas to walk the dogs aside from the streets but we did walk to BayFront Park which is about a mile away and is a nice location. (The walk there is a little questionable, but we survived!). If you dog is scared with traffic noise then this may not be a great option.

Breakfast in the morning was great and above the usual continental breakfast. Didn't see much else in the hotel, but would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BosVizsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hamilton
686 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Staybridge Suites Hamilton - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Hamilton Plaza Hotel and Conference Center
Visitors Inn
#6 of 20 in Hamilton
224 reviews
Admiral Inn Hamilton
#8 of 20 in Hamilton
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Address: 40 Bay St S, Hamilton, Ontario L8P 0B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton > Downtown Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Hamilton Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing