We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Visitors Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Visitors Inn
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My family stayed in one of the deluxe shower rooms January 14th. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Our room 308 overlooked the 403 and my parents found it very noisy (they live in a rural area where there are no sounds but nature at night). I didn't notice the traffic at all. My parents said if they came back they would request a room on the Main St side of the hotel instead of the 403 side. The new shower was very nice and the soaps they provided smelled wonderful. We had the included breakfast bar the next morning - there was juice, milk, tea, coffee, breads, cereals, fruit and yogurt. We didn't get a chance to try the pool area, but it looked very nice. As I used to live across the street from the hotel, I found it easy to get to the hotel and it was easy to get back on the highway to go up to the airport. I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiasmom68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 234 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

When you first see the Visitors Inn you might think it is a former McDonald's. Don't let that exterior fool you. Inside is a well appointed modern lobby. Staff are friendly and helpful. The room is excellent with a comfortable bed, flat screen TV, great workspace and chairs. It has a fridge and minibar. It is tastefully modern in decor. The bathroom is new sleek and a surprisingly rain shower head greets you in the bathroom. The fitness room although small has brand new equipment. Add to all that a price point in the $125 range you have way more value for your money than you would at a similarly priced hotel. If you come to Hamilton, stay at the Visitors Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camundrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Our first time stay at the Visitors Inn. We where impressed when we walked in the door, the
staff where very friendly from the frontdesk adjent, to the waitresses, the cleaning staff and the maintance man we meant in the elevator. Rooms where clean and pool area was very relaxing. The location was great, minutes to the university and minutes to the downtown.
We only had one complaint & that was the bicycle lanes that start just before the hotel entrance, there is a yellow post right in the middle of the lane and you have to make a quick right after that into the hotel. Don't mistake the first driveway, which we took, it is the second one after the arrow
directing you into hotel.
But all in all it was a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wheezie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Good breakfast place just down the street. On a one way, so watch that. We went for a concert at Copps Colluseum and had to take a taxi, but we were told the hotel was also on the direct bus route for those who are brave enough to try that. I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scooper519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have stayed many times at the Visitor's Inn and have always had a good experience there. We especially love to treat ourselves to a Jacuzzi suite. With fireplace, the room provides a lovely respite after a day visiting with family in Hamilton or shopping in nearby Dundas. We just wish a microwave was in the room so we could enjoy popcorn in front of that fireplace.

Room Tip: Treat yourself and get the Jacuzzi suite with fireplace. It is a real luxury for not an unreasonable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of discovering the Visitors Inn in Hamilton Ontario. We decided to spoil ourselves and booked a large Jacuzzi suite which was incredibly roomy. The suite had a beautiful luxurious décor, the most comfortable king bed we've ever slept in, an office area, kitchen area, great large in-room Jacuzzi, and the best part, it still had a warm feel to it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

There are no other hotels in the University area, just older motels, so this one is always full and charges accordingly ($10 extra for the second person!) Our clean single King room was below the lobby level so we had an outside door and could park directly outside. Exterior soundproofing is good - which is necessary being on top of the 403. Across the hall was the laundry (thankfully no one used it) and down the hall, a conference room - and soundproofing of the hall door was minimal, so we were glad the party wound up early. The room was cramped (too much furniture for the space) but the bathroom was spacious. Bed and bath linens were very nice - heavenly bed style. Modern heater/ventilation worked quietly. Fridge and bar fridge, but strangely no microwave. Pool and hot tub were nice and there was a shower there which I would have used, but there was no temp adjustment - brr! The "free" continental breakfast is on a counter in the restaurant, and they keep the coffee in the back so they can serve it at table (or prevent you from filling your travel mug?) then hand you a $0.00 bill to say, tip please. The restaurant and hotel managers were having a tiff over arrangements for a group breakfast which spilled over to the waitresses and made the atmosphere rather tense - less than professional. The buffet included fruit and yogurt, but my muffin was stale and there were no protein choices beyond peanut butter.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1i1bitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hamilton
723 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiral Inn Hamilton
#8 of 20 in Hamilton
234 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Staybridge Suites Hamilton - Downtown
Courtyard Hamilton
#5 of 20 in Hamilton
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Visitors Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visitors Inn

Address: 649 Main St W, Hamilton, Ontario L8S 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: $87 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Visitors Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Luxurious and affordable". Our array of exceptional accommodations includes 60 tastefully appointed guest rooms featuring all queen and king size beds, Kitchenette rooms, Special Jacuzzi Suites, and Two-Bedroom Family Suites. An extensive list of in-room amenities including: Flat Screen TV’s, cordless telephones, FREE WiFi, individually controlled heat/AC units, coffee makers, irons & ironing boards, fridges, cable & satellite TV, free local calls, personal safes, hairdryers, alarm clock radios, complimentary newspapers and more. Unwind, relax and enjoy our beautiful indoor pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, and exercise room. Other features include Paparella's Restaurant, Conference facilities, and plenty of free parking. Conveniently located minutes from McMaster University/Hospital, and Downtown Hamilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Visitors Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Visitors Hotel Hamilton
Visitors Inn Hamilton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing