We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finally, a fantastic non gluten-free bakery!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cake and Loaf

Cake and Loaf
Ranked #3 of 19 Bakeries in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Finally, a fantastic non gluten-free bakery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We recently moved from Toronto to Burlington, where we were used to bakeries like Bake Sale, Prairie Girl, Nadege, Dufflet, etc. I've been having a difficult time located a good bakery, as majority of the bakeries in my area are gluten-free or Fortino's (which the bakery section isn't bad for a grocery store). I got referred to visit here by a co-worker and am I am so happy to have discovered this little gem, only 15 minutes away from home! The breads are quite nice (the chocoloate orange loaf is almost like a dessert itself, and great as day old for french toast), the desserts are very homey and tasty...they are well sized for the price and don't lack flavour or quality. I would highly recommend Cake and Loaf to locals and anyone visiting, they definitely won't fail to impress!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquelinesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    11
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Cakes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Ordered several cakes from Wedding to Birthday to Special Events from this place. These are real butter creme cakes - not the typical oily generic crap from the supermarket bakery. They will specifically get your order right - for that special occasion. They are always busy - highly recommend ordering in advance - they usually require a downpayment - which is not the best policy for a birthday cake or repeat customers. Would be terrific if they opened a second spot in Burlington. This is one of the best bakeries in the entire area - this is all about quality, and it shows in the taste and presentation. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pianoman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Little Bakery on Aberdeen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I read about this place on the websites of several restaurants in town that get their bread from this bakery, and I thought I would check it out. It is definitely does not disappoint! Both breakfast and lunch options are available, and there are vegetarian and vegan options. I would recommend checking out the pot pies that they have, especially the vegan ones. I was suspicious of vegan pastry, but after eating the vegan quinoa and chickpea pie, I am a believer! Cookies, cakes, breads, it's all good, and definitely worth the trip!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mainly take out - great vegan options!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a lovely little take out bakery cafe with a couple of outdoor tables for nicer weather and two parking spots (plus street parking). They typically have a vegan pot pie, vegan salad, muffins (which they change up), and breads, occasional vegan soup, and other various vegan dessert options. They do have items with meat and dairy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank soccergirlOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definately Worth a Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I had heard about Cake and Loaf and wanted to check it out.

I had come for the bread but decided to buy something from the lunch menu.

I bought the arugula, poached pear, pecan and chevre salad. The salad was outstanding. As good as any I've had at Quatrefoil. If you are stopping in to buy some bread, take a second to look at their salads, and if you think anything looks tasty pick one up.

I also bought a loaf which was very good.

I'll be back to try some other types of their bread, and will definately be trying their salads and soups and other food from their lunch menu in the future.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cake and Loaf also viewed

 
Hamilton, Ontario
 

Been to Cake and Loaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing