We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food; excellent meal with attentive service”
Review of Culantro Peruvian Cookery - MOVED

Culantro Peruvian Cookery
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Culantro Peruvian Cookery is the dream of a Lima & San Francisco-trained chef who found himself far from home. Everything we do is from-scratch & beautifully presented in a spotlessly clean, cosy atmosphere.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delicious food; excellent meal with attentive service”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I echo all the other comments. Love this place and will definitely be back. We had beef empanadas and chicken. Also loved the quinoa salad

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lindarferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    23
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic taste - great place!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Que Bueno! What a wonderful little restaurant tucked away on King William Street. So worth the visit, especially if you are looking for something slightly different. I tried the chicken, vegetable and quinoa salad - it was a flavour sensation, fresh ingredients, the perfect blend of herbs & spices and cooked to perfection. Generous portions, five star presentation, fast friendly service and pricing so reasonable, it is almost unbelievable. Well done - I can see why Culantro is the talk of town these days!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Downtown Hamilton”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

While in Hamilton for a business trip our group of 8 was looking for a place downtown to have supper and wanted to try a local restaurant with character rather than one of the usual national chains. Well we could not have chosen better with Culantro. When I called at noon to see if there was room for 8 of us I was kindly asked for what time and when I said about 630 the response was "ok, no problem; I won't have a server but I'll cook and serve you". This reflects the authenticity and warmth of Juan the chef/owner and his commitment to excellent food and service.

The restaurant is quite small (seats about 20 people) and gives you a sense of South America. The menu has some items that are available only on certain days so Juan provided us with free appetizers and roast corn kernels to get our taste buds working. They do not serve alcohol yet as they are awaiting their liquor license but the homemade juices were a wonderful alternative. Everyone in our group found their food to be delicious (we mainly had the chicken and the beef) and the price was unbelievable. If you had the same meal in Toronto it would be at least double the cost. The other unexpected thing that happened is that about halfway through dinner music started at the restaurant next door started and so we were serenaded by a local guitar player with a sweet Stan Rogers type voice and a repertoire of Lightfoot, Simon and Garfunkel, and the like adding to the ambiance of the evening.

Downtown Hamilton is undergoing a transition and may seem a bit rough to visitors who are used to the bright lights and glitz of bigger cities. But if you're into exploring and a bit adventuresome then there seems to be lots of gems to find and Culantro is certainly one of those.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KMH99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
“Excellent value, consistently delicious”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

You can't this little place for excellent dishes at a great price. I have tried everything but the pork belly, and all made to order with fresh ingredients and friendly service. Thumbs up!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Inesita22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Before the concert nosh”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Worth the short walk from Copps, this is a great place for a bite before the event. Quiet and friendly with great food. Yucca side was a pleasant surprise and very tasty. Chicken juicy and savory.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ratfinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Culantro Peruvian Cookery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing