We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My FAVE new spot!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarcoa

Sarcoa
Ranked #231 of 1,213 Restaurants in Hamilton
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Canadian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Sarcoa, Hamilton's premiere waterfront dining experience and events centre. Using fresh local ingredients, our chef's make everything possible in-house. Our goal is to provide you with gourmet comfort food in a warm, contemporary setting. Our 350 seat Waterfront Patio is the jewel of Hamilton. This year on the Waterfront Patio, we no longer be utilize an outdoor kitchen with a separate menu. Instead, the area behind the outdoor stage is now a self-service lounge area. This lounge space is for enjoying drinks and waterfront views. We kindly ask you grab your own drinks at the outdoor bar, and take them back to enjoy the lounge. If you are interested in joining us for lunch or dinner, you will need to make a reservation in advance, and will then be seated in a designated area with service: the interior of Sarcoa, Sarcoa's Upper Patio, or at a glass table in front of the patio stage. We understand the concept of our patio is a little different; however, because our chefs strive to serve the highest quality of freshly made menu items, in doing so, we must compromise with the ability to only serve a limited amount of guests at one time at a slightly slower pace. We kindly ask for your cooperation and understanding in regards to the way we orchestrate our patio. Our goal is to give you and your family and friends a relaxed atmosphere to enjoy well-crafted food on the best patio in Hamilton. We hope to see you out there soon! Cheers, Management
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“My FAVE new spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just enjoyed a perfect evening at Sarcoa to celebrate my birthday. Went with a group of girls who live all through the golden horseshoe, so it was the perfect place to meet. First, the decor is absolutely stunning. It's warm, and inviting but also modern and very cool looking. Felt like we were in L.A. or the kind of place you see on television. Our server, Daniel, was very attentive without being a nuisance. He was helpful, had great suggestions and treated us like guests. The food was off the charts. Some of the best food any of us had ever had. We shared a few appys among us (the brisket poutine and pork and beans are ridiculously good). For our mains, most of us had the braised short ribs, they melted in your mouth... YUM! One person in our group had the sea scallops, they were the biggest and most perfectly cooked scallops I've ever seen. I'm getting that next time for sure. Prices are surprisingly reasonable considering the upscale atmosphere and all the staff they have serving and clearing, filling water etc. The wine list is great and bottles of white wine are served in a bucket with ice so they stay nice and cold. There was a female singer with a piano who played the kind of music everyone knows and loves. We found ourselves singing along more than once. I can't rave about our night enough, just the most perfect night out. We will certainly be back! (But I almost hesitated to post this review because if everyone figures out how amazing Sarcoa is, it'll be hard to get a table, LOL.)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KNelBNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    98
    57
    40
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by this hidden gem on the waterfront. I live in Toronto, and was looking for something a little more classy than usual to celebrate a birthday with my girlfriends. Sarcoa was perfect! Great modern decor, great bar, but what really impressed me was the food. The presentation is amazing, the portions are perfect, and it stands up to any fine-dining restaurant. Great place to go if you are looking for a special night or just want great food. I couldn't believe I was in Hamilton!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sofia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant, even when the patio is closed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

It goes without saying that the patio at Sarcoa is amazing, but I had no idea how great the food was. Our group went to Sarcoa for dinner last night (in November, long after the patio was closed). The menu was nice with a number of entres that interested us. Everyone at the table ordered something different so we could all try a number of dishes, which we did, including the scallops, short ribs, the daily pasta special and a smoked salmon salad. The food was fantastic. All of it. The service was really good, and we even got to meet the chef (his name was Wes and he was extremely gracious). We finished off the meal with 2 types of dessert. The pumpkin cheesecake really is worth the trip alone. Over all, a really great dining experience. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Impressed!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

After reading many mixed reviews, I recently had dinner at Sarcoa restaurant. I have to say I was very impressed!!!! I was prepared to be judgmental after reading some negative reviews but I have nothing negative to say. Clearly there was a rough start when the restaurant first opened but after speaking to some of the staff and management I understand that a lot of changes have been made and they are now very confident in their service team, their management line up, and their kitchen/menu. The restaurant is GORGEOUS!!! Very tastefully done. I hear they also do big parties and weddings and I wish it was around when I got married. For dinner I ordered the beet salad to start and my husband had the Caesar salad. Both were delicious!! My husbands salad even had two strips of house smoked bacon on top, delish!!! For my main I ordered the short rib, WOW!!!! It was sooo tender it fell apart with a fork. It was paired with mashed potatoes and a jus poured over top and I absolutely loved it!!!! My husband ordered the Pork chop and he loved it as well. He even ate his vegetables everything so good. For dessert we shared the pumpkin cheesecake with house made maple gelato and although I was full I found myself racing through to keep up with my husband. I should have made him order his own. We had an espresso and a cappuccino to finish off our amazing dinner. I felt it necessary to write a review b/c I really don't think the bad reviews are an accurate representation of Sarcoa. I would definitely recommend it and we will be back. Next time we will bring friends and check out their weekend entertainment. They have a stage with a beautiful piano and my waiter told me they have bands every Friday and Saturday night. My waiters name was Jose and he was phenomenal!!! I was also very impressed with the management presence in the restaurant. One manager Rick came by our table to see how we were enjoying everything and that was a nice touch. Great job Sarcoa... I can't wait to see your patio in the summer as well!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank shayna2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great setting with terrible fod and service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Sarcoa was a new concept for Hamilton diners. A beautiful setting that has been well designed. We were looking forward to eating there but we could only stop for coffee and dessert on our way to the theatre. Our friends were looking for a place to invite 20 guests for evening hors d'oeuvres and wine. We ordered cappacinos and chai tea lattes with apple crummble brownies and pumpkin cream the cappacino's were cold the lattes had not chai tea and the desserts were terrible. The service was limited the staff were adequate. When we complained theyremoved the cost of the lattes from the bill but they had just lost a party of 2oguests,4 disgruntled locals and dissapointing experience in a beautiful setting. The management was not impressive the chef is not good the service was limited what a pity for Hamilton

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarcoa also viewed

 

Been to Sarcoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing