We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dundurn Castle

Dundurn Castle
Ranked #2 of 148 things to do in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience a guided tour of this 40-room Italianate-style villa built in the 1830's on Burlington Heights; the former site of a fortified military encampment established by the British in 1813.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My Sister and I went. It was nice. The castle is beautiful. The only thing that we did not like is that there were several rooms under renovation, that we couldn't see. Also they only have guided tours, so we felt like we were rushed through.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    147
    41
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Victoria Christmas Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you have not taken the time to visit this gem please do they put on an wonderful Christmas tour there, the entire castle is decorated as it would have been back in the day from paper decorations on the tree to real fruit in the swags that are on the staris. All done in the period it is just beautiful to see and learn where alot of the things that make Christmas as we know it today came from the castle its self is wonderful but the time and energy that is put into decorating it for Christmas its a must see.They sing Christmas Carols but you dont have to if you dont want it is just a great to go back in time and see how simple life was before we had computers and i pods and Tv.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank sam o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Family Event”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great way to spend a few hours with family or friends. My kids loved it and was eye opening for them to realize that places like this exist beyond the movies.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville IL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Private tour was a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were the only ones there for the first tour! The house tour is fascinating, and the guides knowledgeable about life in 19th-century Ontario.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PeterLibertyvilleIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Want to go back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I want to go back and take my grandchildren there. I just loved all the history.It would give our grandchildren an idea of what a castle looked like and how pretty the homes were like and how muych we have advanced.

Helpful?
Thank Darlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dundurn Castle also viewed

 

Been to Dundurn Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing