We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Go Tempura - CLOSED

Go Tempura
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The food, service, and atmosphere were outstanding. The price was reasonable. Will likely dine here again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt154990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Charming family run all-you-can-eat Korean/Japanese”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Yes, there's better sushi around, most notably at Matsu sushi in Dundas. But this is a great family-run place for a fun night out with friends. The service is excellent. The food is plentiful. Lots of sushi. And the price is right. Just be sure you finish everything. Extra charges (just a few dollars) for food left behind, which I think is totally reasonable. Our table of four stuffed ourselves, ordering three or times from the very big menu. Yes, we used the lunch menu for dinner which meant it was $16.99 per person for all-you-can-eat dinner sushi with tea and ice cream for dessert. You can't beat that value. They close at 9 pm so get there early.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cdn Dad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sushi lovers review”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I've tried most of the sushi in Hamilton over the years. Tried go tempura for the first time. The menu has a good variety and the staff were nice. But, the food quality just wasn't there. I felt it was on par with sushi from fortinos. The rice was cold and didn't taste fresh. Overall there wasn't anything that stood out except The spicy golden squid sashimi .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely bento box!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Had lunch here today - a vegetarian bento box - what a lovely selection of sushi, tempura, hand rolls, spring rolls, seaweed salad! I left feeling full, and it only cost $9. I'll be back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAROL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“We have been here dozens of times!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I can not say enough about the service. The family who run the place are very friendly and know us by name. Maybe it's because we've become regulars, but who wouldn't? We always get the all you can eat sushi lunch menu (even at dinner) and it always costs us less than 40$ for two people (including tax and tip). Order small amounts and sample different things. If you want more, order more but don't waste food or you'll be charged extra. Never been a problem with us. The ice cream dessert is great (I personally like the green tea ice cream) and you can have as many scoops as you like! Give it a try, I'm sure you'll enjoy this place!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grizinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Go Tempura also viewed

 
Dundas, Hamilton
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing