We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historical Beauty”

Whitehern Historic House and Garden
Ranked #26 of 148 things to do in Hamilton
Attraction details
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Historical Beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We took a group of young girls to visit the home. The guide was excellent and made the experience interesting for them.

Helpful?
1 Thank wrandml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    12
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington
Level Contributor
132 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Worth the time. Bring the kids.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

A time capsule deep within a city where you'd never expect to find it. Well preserved in that it was lived in until a couple of decades ago.

Helpful?
Thank Lorne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens and meditative space.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you're looking for a peaceful place to sit and think, the benches in the gardens of this historic property will offer you what you need. Bring your lunch, but always clean up after yourself. :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SeanGratton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A gracious house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The attendants' presentation on the history of the McQueston family was precise and informative. The rooms were varied and contained splendid artifacts of the original owners. Hilda's artwork is worth the visit alone.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 21Resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, ON
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worth a tour, lovely place.. .interesting history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had a little Niagara getaway this past weekend. We started it with a visit to Dundurn and on the way back took in Whitehern.

We loved it.

There are no signs at the door and you have to ring the bell to have someone let you in but it just adds to the flavour.

The home is beautifully maintained and has all its original furnishings so you really get a feel for how the family lived so long ago. The family itself is another story. Father dies mysteriously. Mother seemed quite controlling. Six beautiful adult children but none ever marry .. it was enough to get me speculating. Our guide fed us just enough family tidbits to make us really interested. I believe there’s a book out there about them… must look into that!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitehern Historic House and Garden also viewed

 

Been to Whitehern Historic House and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing