We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow.”

Rapscallion Rogue Eatery
Ranked #27 of 1,234 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow.”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This place is a very special find in Hamilton. Had been meaning to go for months with my girlfriend and we finally had the chance to go one Sunday night. Made a reservation ahead of time via email which was super easy. Every item we ordered was absolutely amazing, and went excellently with the wine pairing. We seriously could not give this place enough praise - the wait staff was also amazing, helping with any menu items we were unfamiliar with and suggesting plates for us to try. For the quality of the food, the price is definitely fair. If this place were in a major city, there would be month-long waits just to get a table no doubt. It's a lucky gem to have in Hamilton.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank student_traveller03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    40
    14
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Every last morsel was outstanding!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Went for dinner with my sister and everything was perfection. From the charcuterie to the lamb-stuffed chicken wings to the red wine, we loved every bite! We found the price very fair for the quality of food. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OhCanada3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious Food!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Small but cozy place for carnivore eaters. The food is served in small portions that you can share among the people at your table. It's a little pricey, but it's worth every penny! The food is phenomenal!! We discovered it recently, and will definitely come again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Just E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Surprise!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My father, fiancee and I went out for a walk last night to find a restaurant for dinner. We went into Radius and Boos and found that they were both filled to capacity. *Both* restaurants recommended Rapscallion to us as an alternative and raved about the food there. In fact, the owner of Radius even called Rapscallion for us and made reservations. We wandered over there and were met by the owner who welcomed us in warmly. The menu was was full of interesting items and they all looked delicious. We ended up ordering 5 items from the menu and sharing them among ourselves. We had the tacos, bacon wrapped shrimp, sticky spicy chicken, flat iron stake, pork shoulder grilled cheese. I cannot possibly say enough good things about the food!! Yes, it was on the expensive side, but it was probably one of the best meals I've had in my life. Food was excellent!!! We would all go again soon! The service and atmosphere was top notch as well. I could not recommend this place higher. If you're thinking about trying Rapscallion, then make a reservation and go tonight! You won't be disappointed. :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A great sharing experience”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

As others have stated in their reviews, the cost is not cheap; however, the food and service are worth every single dollar. They create some very unusual and always delicious selections that are great for sharing in order to have a taste of as many plates as possible. We've been there with just two of us and it is also great fun to go with a small group (6?). All of the cooking is done in the open with very few 'gadgets' and yet this staff does wonders with every ingredient. We've been several times and have enjoyed the experience on each visit. And how can you go wrong with such an awesome name as RAPSCALLION ROGUE Eatery?? Some intelligence there, I tell you!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryanne37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rapscallion Rogue Eatery also viewed

Hamilton, Ontario
 
Hamilton, Ontario
Hamilton, Ontario
 

Been to Rapscallion Rogue Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing