We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best sushi in Hamilton”
Review of Joya Sushi

Joya Sushi
Ranked #173 of 1,221 Restaurants in Hamilton
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Best sushi in Hamilton”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Joya is a gem! You're going to love it if you like sushi. They have fresh sushi, and their Korean food is pretty good as well.

The service is really good. The waiters and waitresses are polite. The owners are really nice. I go to there a lot that they can recognize me and will give me complimentary food sometimes. The only bad thing I can think of about their service is that someone it takes a bit too long for them to make the food. But all their sushi are made when you order, so, it is an acceptable range of time to wait.

The price is not cheap but is definitely reasonable for the quality.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good food and service”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This place doesn't look like much from the outside, but it has really great food. Not super expensive, but not cheap. About on par with a lot of suburban sushi places in terms of cost.

Food is delicious and service is prompt and polite.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brendanp101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch spot”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I go here regularly for lunch. The daily lunch special ($7.95) rotates and includes miso soup & a small salad to start. My lunchmates and I typically order off the lunch menu - sashimi lunch (3 maki rolls + 5 sushi), sushi combination, or maki lunch (15 pcs). The portions are generous and great prices at lunch time. The dinner menus a bit more pricey. The spicy salmon rolls are delicious!

The food is fresh and service is fast. The bathrooms are lacking (and have a strange sign about not flushing toilet paper? I hope it's a translation issue and not really what they mean) and the outside has seen better days but the food is fantastic!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank floatie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommended”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The food was excellent and fresh. The service and atmosphere were great. The evening was a little on the expensive side, but we will likely dine here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt154990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best sushi ever”
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

I used to live in Toronto and ate sushi regularly. After moving to Dundas a few years back, I was worried about the food selection. Took me a while to fall upon Joya as the outside appearance isn't all that appealing BUT once I tried it, I now won't go anywhere else for sushi. Fresh, very tastey and very reasonable prices. The family who run it are very sweet and work extremely hard to please. Now this is a regular weekly lunch outing for Mum and I. They also do a lot of takeout....highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Catriona54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joya Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Joya Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing