We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the first time.”
Review of Red Rockets

Red Rockets
Ranked #478 of 1,227 Restaurants in Hamilton
Price range: $8 - $11
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good for the first time.”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Even though we read a lot of very negative reviews, we purchased a wag jag which allowed us two pounds of wings, fries, coleslaw and 2 pop at the Upper Paradise location. We like very dry, crispy, unbreaded wings to dip and they paid attention to our request, and they were amazing. Everything else was pretty good and, it was early in the day (picked up the food we had pre ordered by phone around 5 p.m.) so it was ready when we arrived. In fact, based on our experience we purchased two more wag jags!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twoowlsonhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Too Bad I Can't Rate This More Than a 5”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Let me start by saying my husband & I don't even care for wings - until we tried Red Rockets. We only went based on a good recommendation. Oh my word, these wings are wonderful! And the fries...and the veggies with the blue cheese dip...and the ribs! All delicious, let me tell you. I highly recommend you try the garlic BBQ sauce.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Action_Jackson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sparrows have bigger wings!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

First, the wings are not your typical Buffalo wings, so temper your expectations and you may not be as disappointed as we were. Seriously, my title is accurate. The wings were very small and out of 3 pounds of wings we only had 3 dummies. I do not know if this is typical but they are my wife's favorite piece. We asked for original (no breading) Buffalo style with medium sauce. We asked for hot sauce (extra charge of $0.75). The sauce we got was kind of sweet with a very gentle heat. Even the hot sauce wasn't really hot with same sweetness as the medium. We found it a little pricey, even with a coupon, for what we got. Look, in fairness the wings tasted ok, but not what we expected, and not the style we like. They have won the Hamilton Spectator readers choice award for years so someone likes this style of wing, but unfortunately we are not a part of that opinion.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dover
Level Contributor
117 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC WINGS AND FRIES”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Red Rockets has the best wings I have ever had on take-out. They are breaded, not greasy and have a variety of sauces to be smothered in. I tried the 'medium bbq' and it had a good spicy bite. The fries are 'spiced wedges' and compliment the wings and fresh veggies that come with the order.
Each order is made fresh and the take-out only store has comfortable couches to sit on while you wait the approx. 20 minutes for your order.
Can't wait to go again!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richardson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Rockets also viewed

 

Been to Red Rockets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing