We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a nice diner”
Review of West End Diner

West End Diner
Ranked #54 of 1,227 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quite a nice diner”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We visited for breakfast last weekend, during the holiday weekend and found that the staff was, if not warm, incredibly efficient, and the food was good value for the price. The portions were generous, the food was hot and cooked to order, and the price was right. Although we did see reviews which suggested that portions were small, there were no complaints here. In fact, we would visit again & we would highly recommend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Twoowlsonhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    53
    16
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Does What it Does Very Well”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Don't know this place manages to offer all the dining choices they do for such great prices. There's even a seniors menu. Food is good, place is immaculate, staff are friendly. Breakfast all day long. Soups homemade and excellent too. Can be busy at the height of lunch time but worth it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank grobinsongow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very good, casual diner with great prices & huge menu”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I have eaten here about 10 times now. The decor is very nice (better than you would think for a diner) It was actually renovated a few years ago by a Greek restaurant that since closed down.

The menu is huge! (burgers, wraps, fish & chips, gyros, souvlaki, all day breakfast, open-faced sandwiches, etc. etc.) The portions are quite large, the food always hot and fresh, and the prices are VERY reasonable....probably why it is so busy almost every time I have been there. (I would estimate prices to be in the $ 6-12 range for most of the menu)

The wait staff is always very friendly and the service is prompt and efficient.

All-in-all a great little diner which is EXTREMELY popular with people in the west end of the city.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesCanada1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Kids and I love it”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Portions are huge and delicious. This little diner has a greek flair and a big heart. Waitresses are nice and the food it homemade. It is delicious and comfy. We will return here again and again. They use good ingredients and it is always busy.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just wait until word gets out....”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

What a fabulous diner. Located in the Whitney plaza on Main St W, this clean, newly refurbished, charming little diner is exactly what a diner should be. Great home cooking, extensive menu, nice decor and excellent service all at a very inexpensive price are all found at this little gem. My wife and I have eaten here approximately 4-5 times and each time was fabulous.

Great wraps, great burgers, great clubs and other sandwiches, great souvlaki, great all day breakfasts....and the list goes on. We've never been disappointed by anything we've ordered. Usually, our bill is less than $20 for the two of us and most of the time we're taking home a doggy bag!! Can't say enough about this place. Unfortunately, unless you live in the area, you probably won't even know it's there....but just wait until the word gets out.....especially the McMaster crowd.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krustytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West End Diner also viewed

 
Hamilton, Ontario
Hamilton, Ontario
 

Been to West End Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing