We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hamiltons Burger Heaven”
Review of Chuck's Burger Bar - CLOSED

Chuck's Burger Bar
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hamiltons Burger Heaven”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is where you go when you want to treat yourself to a burger done right in every way. With many options of everything, from toppings to cheeses to types of patty, with dozens of types of beer, there is little need to go anywhere else to spoil yourself. With every custom/gourmet style burger you can get heaps of fries or handmade onion rings to compliment your giant, delicious burger. The place is small if you're eating in, but you can get your meal to go too. It becomes an addiction, so beware.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    59
    18
    13
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cool burger shop on a cool street”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This place has a pretty cool atmosphere, and offers and impressive menu for a burger bar. There's nothing standard about this burger bar though, because all of the ingredients and burgers are crafted with more care than your typical fast food joint. Even vegetarians can indulge in a homemade veggie burger!

Definitely worth checking out if you're looking for somewhere to eat on Locke Street.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Definitely one of the best burgers in Hamilton”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Really one can find any kind of burger with any combination of toppings. The burgers (whether beef, turkey, emu, bison, veal .....) are homemade and fabulous. Depending on the burger topics, the burgs can be stacked a mile high and a bit messy. All the better!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oerworked_but_rested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Meat Lovers Delight”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My experience has been with take-out, as I have not been able to go down to eat at the premises. It's a small establishment so there is limited seating.

However, they have Very tasty gourmet burgers!
Try the pull pork poutine! You'd think you were in Montreal. That good!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SylviaMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
72 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic burgers & sides. Needs more space & some A/C.”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Chucks has served up some of the best burgers I've ever tasted. I highly recommend the ground bacon burger. It's not a fatty, greasy mess that one would normally assume. Try it- you won't be disappointed. I've been told by friends that the bison burger is also phenomenal.

The toppings selection is fantastic. Not many places offer 3-4 types of mustard, chipotle ketchup and things like sauteed onions and hot peppers for FREE! Excellent selection of cheese and premium toppings like LOBSTER.

Sides are awesome. The panko breaded onion rings are a crunchy, tasty delight. The poutines are authentic quebec-style with real cheese curds and awesome gravy. A friend and I split the beef short rib poutine with a friend and we both were in poutine heaven.

The drink selection is awesome, but beers are expensive here. LOTS of imports available, but only a couple available on tap.

Haven't had a problem so far with the staff. I love the use of iPads for ordering. Very efficient. The staff members are friendly and know the menu well.

The only downside (and reasons why I haven't given this place a 5/5) are the following. First - the place is tiny. A couple of times I've waited upwards of 45 minutes just to sit at the bar. There must be less than 20 available chairs to actually sit in. Any possible way to expand would help so much. Second - despite being in the middle of the summer; this place needs to find a better way to cool down. We were literally sweating buckets with the summer heat and grills inside. I felt terrible for the chefs.

Regardless - check this place out. I have yet to find a better gourmet burger place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuck's Burger Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing