We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Hamilton!”

Earth to Table Bread Bar
Ranked #17 of 1,221 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great for Hamilton!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My 4-star rating is relative to its location, i.e. Hamilton. It is certainly my favourite restaurant in Hamilton but is maybe only average if it was in Toronto. The salads are my favourite menu items, for just just over $10 you get a meal-sized salad and I've enjoyed pretty much every single one I've had. The taco salad is a meal in itself, but the quality can be inconsistent...from great to good, but never bad in my experience. Other appetizers I've tried have all been great.

Ordered pizza here only once, my first visit. The pizza dough, while it had a nice char on the outside, was very heavy and doughy in the middle, not typical of the neapolitan style pizza i'm used to in Toronto. It wasn't terrible, but failed enough in my expectations that I've never ordered pizza again in subsequent visits. But this is based on a single experience so could be a one-off.

They have alcoholic milkshakes - that is worth its own star!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mellymelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    103
    39
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Better than I anticipated”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My daughter and I went early on a Tuesday evening. There were several families with small children all having a GREAT time! It was Taco Tuesday which I would highly recommend. Very creative combinations and tasted terrific.

My daughter skeptically ordered a pizza and was more than pleasantly surprised. It was really good, better than the local pizza joint down the street and way better service despite huge crowds. We actually felt welcomed and valued by the Bread Bar staff!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oerworked_but_rested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Burger Winner”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

After a burger showdown with 6 restaurants participating and 6 friends, Bread Bar came in the winner in 2 of 3 categories. The burger was the juiciest of all 6 restaurants participating and also won for value $. The third category was the bun and Bread Bar used white bread, so lost that category...When we tallied up the scores, Earth to Table Bread Bar was the overall winner by a landslide!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusieQue_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Environmentally Responsible & Delicious!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The restaurant is tastefully decorated, very comfortable and inviting atmosphere. The staff is knowledgable in the menu items: even let my daughter sample a soup before ordering!

Food is amazing! I have been there three times and everything has been flavourful, fresh, well seasoned and reasonably priced.

The only down side is that it's becoming very popular, so depending on the time of the day you may not be able to get a table. Thankfully, they have a take-out window! Phew!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SylviaMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great pizza and salad”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a nice place for dinner, but a little bit out of the way in Locke Street Village. The tomato salad and the pizzas are tasty and fresh, there's a nice assortment of local beers and wines (only two drafts though - Mill St. Organic and Beau's Lug Tread). Since we left around closing time, we were given a few assorted leftover pastries - muffins and croissants, which we had as part of breakfast the next morning (so I can vouch for the breakfast pasteries). Service was attentive and friendly. The seating isn't the most comfortable and the atmosphere certainly not fine dining, but I'd definitely come back, now that I know about this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tayser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earth to Table Bread Bar also viewed

 
Hamilton, Ontario
 

Been to Earth to Table Bread Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing