We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suitable for those who have never eaten south of Buffalo”
Review of Hillbilly Heaven - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hillbilly Heaven
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Athens, Georgia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Suitable for those who have never eaten south of Buffalo”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I love southern food and have had BBQ in all of its' different regional varieties. That said this is just a cliched amalgam of southern bbq. If you've ever had it in Georgia, SC, Texas or KC then give this place a pass. Also if you're actually southern the stereotypical attitudes about what it is to be southern are down right insulting. Nothing says mediocre food like a fat pair of Yankees mocking southern culture

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank rtsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    1
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Roller Coaster”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you like lip or attitude this would be the place for you. If you want alot of BBQ, this is the place for you. If you want consistent quality BBQ then this is not the place for you. I have found that the quality is always going up and down I am sorry to say. I have judged Southern BBQ comps in towns and cities across Ontario in the last 10 years, so I think I should know what to look for when it comes to quality. Not to mention that I married a girl from Memphis who's family started me into this Southern Candy. :) I am sorry to say that I would have to give this place a pass.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Option”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I've eaten here twice and have not been disappointed ..... the portions are large and the atmoshpere ok albeit a bit tight for space...maybe thats what makes it work ! If your looking for a relaxed dinner this is the place to go. You have to try it at least once !!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hump4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BBQ at its best”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

You cannot go wrong with the food here. True southern food that tingles the palette. The Kansas City Barbecue would be proud. Experience some southern food, culture and hospitality. Its no wonder this food it taking off around the world

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simondirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious BBQ”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place serves delicious down home style BBQ. If you want fancy, elegance dont bother stopping here. Hillbilly Heaven is proud to be laid back, picnic style place which makes sense since ALL they serve is BBQ and BBQ fare. I had the BBQ sampler (pulled pork, pulled chicken, beef brisket) ALL REALLY delicious!!! The coleslaw was creamy and crunchy (even the next day) and the deep fried green beans are incredible!! ONLY down fall, they ONLY take cash!! So be prepared. But it is well worth the trip to the bank!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillbilly Heaven also viewed

 
Stoney Creek, Hamilton
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing