We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food, Great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillbilly Heaven - CLOSED

Hillbilly Heaven
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Hamilton
Level Contributor
170 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you want to go out and eat meat. This is the place, the bbq is very good, I really liked the brisket. The side dishes were also very good, the deep fried extreme beans are fun and tasty.
The restaurant is clean and basic since take out is as big a part of their business as dine in. We ate in and had enough to take home for lunch the next day. It was great.
The hillbilly chilli fries and a drink would probably be enough for a meal for most people, me included.
I will go back any time I feel like BBQ.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TKoTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    1
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I ordered this for delivery for the first time and I have to say I was very impressed... Everything tasted devine and I couldn't believe the portion sizes! HUGE enough to feed 2-3 people. I ordered the beef brisket, mac & cheese, coleslaw and fries.. about 14.00-15.00$ for that meal.. which is a pretty good deal.. Oh, and their sauce.... wow.

I'll be ordering here again! had to write this review after I ate, I usually don't write reviews at all ^_^

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sally g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“mmmmm good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

besides not being overly healthy, lots of deep fried stuff, it is an amazing place.... owner is super nice and menu is unique

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank loriwhitwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent prices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Go for the pulled pork or the brisket. The pulled chicken isn't as great. But the meat is awesome!

Insane portions and delicious sauces!

Prices are great!

Bring cash, no debit or credit.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Heavenly carnivorous experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Went on recommendation of a fellow meat lover, was impressed walking in by the cool decor and all the hot sauces on display. Met the owner, Cameron, entertaining character. Simple menu, ordered pulled pork and side of BBQ beans. Huge sandwich on an incredible bun. Tried all three of the homemade BBQ sauces, awesome! Slathered a ton of sauce #2 on my sandwich. Can't imagine having it as take-out without that big squeeze bottle of magic by my side. The beans were tasty too. Homemade I'm pretty sure, nice chunks of apples, red peppers and onions. Great if you're into that. The sandwich and side only came to $8.85. A real bargain for something of this quality. I'm gonna be back soon!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Grant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillbilly Heaven also viewed

 
Dundas, Hamilton
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing