We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this venue”
Review of Airport Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Airport Inn
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Rooms tiny, hallway stinks of urine, no restaurant, horrible parking lot and overall not up to howard Johnson's standards.
Stayed one night before a flight thinking it would be Bette than super 8 and boy were we wrong.

Room Tip: If you are using the airport stay better and closer at the super 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you for your review,

We are disappointed that you were unsatisfied with stay. Yes, we do not have a onsite restaurant, but we are located in restaurant alley. Turtle Jacks, the Keg are within a 2 minute walk. Also an abundance of dinning, buffets and all day breakfasts are all down the road. Regarding our parking area. Our parking is free. We find we do have a large area for our customers, there should be plenty of free parking, even when we are sold out. Never the less, we do apologize if you experience a negative experience with our parking. We hope you will give our brand another stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 258 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I was in Hamilton on a business trip and stayed for a whole week, my accomidation was at Howard Johnson motel. First of all, the location was a perfect nice and quiet part of Hamilton. Although the establishment looked modest in size and scope I was quiet thrilled and suprised at the level of customer service experience. Starting from the friendly front desk staff who made me feel comfortable during my stay there and ensuring that my room was kept clean, that eveything was in its placed and working properly.

I would definately recomend anyone to stay at Howard Johnson, especially if you're looking to save quiet a bit of money (on longer stays) and are seeking curtious professional staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dado D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dado D,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. Thank you for your complement on our staff,and the service they provided you. We take pride in providing great service to all our guest, and staff. We are glad you enjoyed your week stay with us, and hope to have you again here if you return to Hamilton.
Howard Johnson Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

It was filthy, decrepit, literally falling apart. I can't believe Howard Johnson and wyndham would attach their name to such a place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Scott B,

I would like to take this opportunity to apologize on your recent stay. Our ceiling in our stairway was leaking, due to a roof leak, but is now in for repair.. Our hotel is an older property, there for it gives us the advantage to set our price's very competitively.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I recently stayed here for business and was very pleased with the service. The staff was very friendly, and management ensured that I had everything I needed. The room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is also in a very accessible location. I would definitely return to this hotel, as well as recommend it to others. Cheers

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heavy-chevy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thank you for your review Heavy-chevy92,

We are always pleased to here from our happy customers. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. On behalf of our staff and I, we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This hotel was ok for a quick place to stay, but bleak. The hallway had a leaking ice machine and the room needed updating. The breakfast was spartan. A positive thing was that the wireless came with the room. Wireless charges should be free in all hotels. not just places like this.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thank you for your review Christopher A,

Plain but functional is correct, we are an older building, but that gives us the opportunity to provide competitive price's along with great service and amenities. We are in construction in repair the ceil leak and looking to upgrade our ice machine.
We hope to see you once again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
Courtyard Hamilton
#5 of 20 in Hamilton
273 reviews
Visitors Inn
#7 of 20 in Hamilton
234 reviews
Admiral Inn Hamilton
#8 of 20 in Hamilton
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Inn

Address: 1187 Upper James St, Hamilton, Ontario L9C 3B2, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Hamilton)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: $52 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Airport Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Hamilton Howard Johnson
Airport Inn Hamilton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing