We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must do for families with young kids”

African Lion Safari
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Go "On Safari!" and get CLOSER than you ever imagined to over 1,000 exotic birds and animals that roam free in seven large Game Reserves! Your full day of family adventure begins as you set out on a "trek" along 9km of Safari Trail in your own vehicle or aboard a guided, air-conditioned Safari Tour Bus. See a pride of majestic lions, graceful giraffe, a crash of rhino, and many more animals from around the world! After your "safari" through the Game Reserves, set out on a walking tour of the grounds and enjoy exciting bird and animal presentations featuring Parrot Paradise, Birds of Prey Flying Demonstration and Elephant Round-Up. Enjoy the daily Elephant Swim, Pets' Corner, "Nature boy" scenic railway, "African Queen" boat cruise, Discovery Centre and Jungle Playground Areas. Cool off in the newly-expanded Misumu Bay Wet Play interactive water adventure zone where kids can stroll through sprinklers, spouts and stream jets, trek under rain trees and tumble buckets, and interact with gadgets, gizmos and geysers! Open daily from May 7 to October 10, 2016
Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Must do for families with young kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our second time here. We went about 10 years ago when it wasn't as commercialized, but then. they also did not have as many animals. Definitely a must if you have young children. It's great to see wild animals up close. Zebras, monkeys, bison, etc. all come up to your car. We had several ostrich(s?) come up and eat the bugs off our windshield. Expensive - $32.95 per adult & $25.95 per child. Try to go early in the day to see the animals more active. Open only between May-October.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NRVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    368
    71
    22
    20
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
346 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Unique zoo experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My family and I had a wonderful day at the African Lion Safari. We visited recently and the baboon footprints still visible on our windshield continues to make us smile. Be aware, from what I understand, the African Lion Safari may be closed for the season at this time.

The day we can to this zoo was overcast and a bit cool, which was great because it was not at all crowded. We drove through the entrance gates, paid our admission (they offer discounts through RARES and AAA/CAA). You can drive through the game reserves at any time, as often as you like. We parked first because it was about time for the elephant swim. The elephants are walked across the park to a large pond. There is a viewing area set up. It is really fun to watch the elephants walk by, head to their sloped entrance into the pond and just walk right in. There are two work dogs that are ready to jump into the water to "herd" the elephants if needed.

The elephants go under water, splash around, and meander over to the area set up for viewing. The zoo keepers toss them apples. The elephants line up for their treats. They play around, squirt water toward the crowd, so fun to watch. After 30 minutes or so the elephants walk out of the water and are led back to their exhibit.

We had lunch, which was basic fast food fare, at moderate prices. Many people brought their own food.

We then drove through the reserve. You can go at your own pace, stopping as you want to see the animals. Pretty amazing to be the one "caged" while the animals are lose. Keepers are all over reminding people to keep their windows closed and not to feed the animals.

We particularly enjoyed the baboon area. Some were tossing food out and in response the baboons climbed up on their vehicles. The zoo keepers were often telling people not to feed them. We did not feed them, and still enjoyed having them climb up on our vehicle. One sat on our sideview mirror and used the antenna for some support. Otherwise they were not pulling or clawing at anything on our van. Their padded feet did not scratch or harm our vehicle. Though people are warned of the possibility that an animal could damage their vehicle.

There were many different animals to see and it was nice to see the animals with so much room, acres and acres of space. Here the giraffes and rhinos have tons of space to run and run if they want to.

The reserve is sectioned off so that only animals that get along are grouped together. As you drive through, you pass through a number of gates.

Later we returned to the parking lot to visit the rest of the zoo. We rode an elephant. Took the train ride (included with admission). And took the short boat ride, which is also included with admission. The boat travels around is pond/lake that has several small islands. Various primates/monkeys life on these islands. It is amazing to see spider monkeys climbing tall willow trees and swinging from real tree branches.

We didn't see the other shows, just not enough time, but look forward to visiting again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank B_in_Penfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had really great time visiting this place with the family. Everything was great. It was no waiting time at all; staff members at gates were very friendly, other personnel monitoring elephants with their swimming project was really great with answering questions. Birds show was really great. All staff seem to really enjoy work that they are doing and trying to do the best they can to make sure visitors were happy. It was really great experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hawthornwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

You get to drive your own car through a huge enclosure that has so many exotic animals - it's really fun for the kids. Especially the monkeys because they climb on your car. It's not cheap - so be prepared to spend about $40 per person - but it was one of the highlights on our vacation and I recommend it. You need about 4 hours there - and you want to make sure and see the elephants being led into the small lake for a swim - they walk right by you - it's so cool!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJA735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful day out for all the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We visited this place while on holiday with our family who live in Canada and had a terrific day out with so much to see and do that there was hardly enough time. The staff are excellent - helpful and sympathetic to visitors' needs whilst always prioritiising the animals' welfare. We did all the trips, watched the elephants' swim - more like massed charge into the water - had a ride on an elephant for the first time since Thailand 17 years ago (with my little grand-daughter) and watched the bird even. Food in the catering section was good value and everywhere seemed clean.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed African Lion Safari also viewed

 

Been to African Lion Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing