We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visa card maxed - Cable/TV no service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Admiral Inn Hamilton
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Rockwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visa card maxed - Cable/TV no service”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We checked in to the hotel on 9/21/11 and checked out on 9/26/11.
I gave my Visa card to the hotel clerk and they took the number for theirfile to hold until we checked out. The next day when I went to use it - the restaurant where we were eating said it was declined. Thought there must be a problem with their machine so used cash. Next time I went to use it, same problem, it was declined. I called my bank and told them what the problem was and they said it was because they put a hold on it at the hotel for the full balance of what was in my acct. I confronted the manager John Lulich and he informed me that was common and it was done all the time. I asked him to take it off and my friend would give her card to use instead. He said it would be held for 14 days or until we check out the following Monday. Very matter of fact and not at all cooperative. Said it was common for hotels to hold up to $500.00 a day for the room. Second issue was no TV - said it was the cable company's fault and he was sorry but could not do anything. (As a matter of fact 10 rooms were affected this way). Felt like they should have given us a discount - Two nights were 89.95 and three @ $119.95. Shd have at least given us all 5 nights at 89.95. One thing is for sure we would not recommend the hotel to anyone nor stay there again. My friend's two aunts who live in Hamilton go in there quite frequently to eat in the dining room so they will not be going in there again. Last but not least, my friend asked for the owner's name to call later and he refused to give it to her saying that he requested his name not be given out.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeviRockwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    73
    41
    8
    16
See reviews for
51
50
31
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The first time I stayed was in 2008, also for a conference. Since then the hotel has had a renovation and is even more impressive. The room is very comfortable and clean, but there is no safe inside the room! The bed linen is great, and the towels are soft, but unfortunately there is no shower cap in the bathroom! I found the breakfast to be inexpensive for what they offer and they do not have a "classic continental" breakfast.

They have a nice fitness room, and free internet and parking. Overall I found the hotel stay clean and pleasant.

I Will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I just arrived home from a 2 night stay here. Upon leaving this morning I found a bed bug on the bed! I brought the bug down to the front desk and was told I "might" get a $20 per night discount. I had to leave right away and the front desk staff said he couldn't make any decisions about the discount and I would have to wait until a manager was there to make that decision. He did say that they would ensure that they put the room out of service and get it cleaned up properly. What disturbed me is that he didn't seem at all surprised or really that concerned.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LORIT855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My wife and i stayed at this hotel and while she did not like it saying it felt "low-end." However I disagree. I found it to be quite pleasant. I found the room to be spacious, modern and clean. The internet access terminals in the lobby were handy and the restaurant downstairs served tasty affordable meals.

The cons:

Service issue: the fellow at the front desk was a bit slow at doing his job and when we brought up a billing issue, he couldn't do anything until another staff member showed up the next morning. No big deal, but it was an inconvenience.

Facilities: i didn't see the exercise room, so cannot comment on that. There is no pool. I'd say don't stay at this hotel if you are looking for a lot of "extras" such as pool, hot tub, bar, etc, but if you want a decent, clean place to stay, you'll like it.

The location was convenient being right in Hamilton and I went for a late night walk through the surrounding residential neighbourhood and felt quite safe.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GentleRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed one night in Hamilton - 2 adults & 2 preschoolers, and found the Admiral Inn. It was a nice, no-frills hotel in a good location. The room had a fridge and microwave, and it was spotlessly clean. The staff was friendly. There was a huge park right across the street, although I didn't see a playground in it. I did find a small playground in the neighborhood behind the hotel, but it was pretty well hidden. The hotel has a restaurant which has coloring books and crayons for the kids. There is also a KFC, grocery store and McDonalds (with playplace) within walking distance. Parking is free and right beside the hotel. The only thing I didn't like was the windows didn't open in the room. However, the price was right and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mctet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingstown, St. Vincent
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

When I visit my daughter in Hamilton I normally stay at the Visitors Inn, but since they were booked for the night I needed, I tried this place. I was a bit hesitant to book here, but was pleasantly surprised! This hotel turned out to be quite reasonably priced and had everything I needed. The room was clean, had a small fridge, a nice bright clean bathroom, a super comfy bed, and working wi-fi. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

My only complaint is that the window did not open, and I like my fresh air as I am not a fan of aircon. Don't hesitate to stay here if you need a place to bunk down in 'the Hammer'.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2011

This is a well managed property with a nice little in house restaurant/bar.
Nearby great running/biking park with trails.
One issue - their free wireless works fine on laptop but did not allow my iPhone 3GS [ iOS4 ] to connect. Check before you go if that is important.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steelequip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hamilton
684 reviews
Visitors Inn
#6 of 20 in Hamilton
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Staybridge Suites Hamilton - Downtown
Downtown Hamilton
Hamilton Plaza Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Inn Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Inn Hamilton

Property: Admiral Inn Hamilton
Address: 149 Dundurn St N, Hamilton, Ontario L8R 3M1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Inn Hamilton 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Admiral Inn Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Inn Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Admiral Hotel Hamilton
Hamilton Admiral Hotel
Admiral Inn Hamilton Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing