We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good sleep”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

friendly and very helpful staff ; very comfortable beds ; on the downside parking charge a bit of a surprise and no late night snacks were available when we stayed . We did not use the pool or spa facilitys but they appeared to be in working order and clean and tidy in appearance .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    255
    100
    45
    30
See reviews for
137
132
44
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okanagan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel a few times for business, weeks at a time. The rooms are clean, the beds are very comfortable. I do always get a corner King room as it has a fridge in it. The gym is well furnished with both cardio and weights, it is attached to the pool so it tends to be a bit too warm and humid. A little more airflow while running on a treadmill would be nice. The pool and hottub are nice, encased in a glass room. The location is very close to the downtown core so there are a wide variety of people you will see if you leave the hotel for a walk. On my first visit I was asked for change before my feet even touched the ground out of the cab. The hotel is also attached to a mall that has strange hours of operation. For a larger city you would expect a pharmacy to be open on Sundays, I guess they expect people to go to Walmart or something else instead. Of course the Hotel has no control over the mall but.... it is great entertainment if you enjoy people watching. :) Anyway back to the hotel. Underground heated parking AWESOME in the winter! The hotel on a whole is clean and inviting. The staff polite and friendly but not fake always a bonus!

Room Tip: The higher the better for view! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Godra76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Clean room. Comfortable bed. Helpful and professional staff always ready to assist with a big smile on the face. Syreeta, the Assistant Front Office Manager went out her way to make our stay memorable. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianT86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Sheraton the rooms are very clean and tidy the staff were very helpful with directions to the clubs and restraunts the shopping mall was just at the hotel doors we didn't need to go out that was fantastic on Saturday they have the farmers market in the mall the prices were good with lots of venders I enjoyed it. I would recommend the Sheraton.

Room Tip: we had a corner room and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel has spacious rooms. The front desk is courteous. The lobby has no frills but is clean.

The hotel is connected to an underground mall, which is a bit tired except for a flourishing farmer's market. There's a food court where you can get a reasonably healthy Thai or Vietnamese themed meal. There is also a small grocery -- Dilly's in the mall -- which has interesting and healthy items to eat.

The area around the hotel is "iffy". Don't turn left as you exit the hotel towards International Village, which is replete with pawn shops and payday loan stores. Rather head in the other direction towards Hess Village.

My wife and I had an unpleasant experience with hotel security, which had an aggressive presence. The night manager was pleasant and took a night off our room charge. The next day, the hotel manager sent up an apologetic note with sparkling water and Skittles.

Room service was efficient. We ordered breakfast off the menu which was reasonably good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank My2CentsAndMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan B, Starwood Hotels at Sheraton Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
My2CentsandMore,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our spacious newly renovated rooms. We were disappointed to hear about your interaction with the hotel security and would like to connect with you to understand your interactions with them further. Please email our general manager at syed.gardezi@sheratonhamilton.com to discuss any concerns you had. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Hamilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a competent hotel with luxury aspirations, but something about it seemed off while I was there for three nights. I would recommend it without reservation, though I can't compare it with similar hotels in Hamilton for relative cost and value. It is clean and modern, and the bed was very comfortable. It gets the job done as a nicely located, fairly comfortable and healthy hotel in a city that doesn't seem to have much that's comfortable or distinctive. As part of a city shopping square with underground shops it has a sense of place, and the accessibility of the downtown library at the other end of the underground walk is a nice feature if libraries are important to you. One the reasons for my trip was research and it worked out nicely.

But the atmosphere of the hotel is sterile and cold. The large lobby might as well be a bank lobby, or the ground floor of a high rise office building. In my few encounters with front desk staff I didn't see a single smile, though an encounter with the maid who did up my room was full of best wishes for a good day. The hallways and elevators gave me a sense of only a generic place with no personality, and the room, while large and crisp in new carpeting and wallpaper, had no warmth in both respects. Keeping a balanced temperature in the room required constantly readjusting the thermostat, and the air that blew through the only apparent register in the wall was always cool; less cool to get warmth and more cool to back it down to a balance. There was a small air outlet in the bathroom ceiling which had no effect in a bathroom with a cold tile floor and no heat lamp. The room lamps were all three way lamps with one way bulbs, which indicates to me a fatal lack of attention to detail. And the wide screen digital tv, had only a washed out analog picture, with close captioning (helpful to me) that turned itself on and off at will (mostly off), run by a remote control that did not complete most functions. It's those little things that belie the intended effect of slick decoration, and contribute to the sense of the place not being in fact or in purpose the place it would like to present itself as being. Perhaps I ask too much, but I felt like I'd spent three nights in an institution, albeit a very attractive one.

WiFi report: I believe that strong, free wifi in a hotel is as necessary as a bed and a toilet. This one charges $10 a night for in room wifi, but I had to complain about it before I was given a little card that told me that free wifi was available in the lobby and the second floor business center. I did all if my internet work on the hotel's computers on the second floor for free, including printing. Finally figured out the economics of the problem. They don't want you using your computer in your room for free entertainment when they'd rather sell you movies on demand, but outside of your room it's not an issue. The hotel computers and printers were great and easily available, thank you, but I still insist that free in room wifi is a necessity. I usually avoid hotels that charge for it, but the hotel was chosen and partially paid for by another party for this trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VaBookwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan B, Starwood Hotels at Sheraton Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
VABookwriter,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our clean modern newly renovated rooms and Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed. We were disappointed to hear that you did not feel a warm welcome upon checking in to our hotel, we would love to connect with you to understand your interactions further. Please email our general manager at syed.gardezi@sheratonhamilton.com to discuss any concerns you had. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Hamilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronot
2 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I work for Chrysler Canada and travel across Ontario for business. The Sheraton Hamilton is a very clean hotel with friendly staff, that would go out of their way to accommodate and make your stay a pleasure. The food at the two restaurants is excellent, Loft being more causal with a fun up beat. The gym is great and pool sauna very clean. Great hotel to stay well in Hamilton.

Paul D

Room Tip: try to stay on the club floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Downtown Hamilton
Staybridge Suites Hamilton - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Hamilton Plaza Hotel and Conference Center
Visitors Inn
#6 of 20 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Admiral Inn Hamilton
#8 of 20 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hamilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hamilton Hotel

Property: Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Address: 116 King St W, Hamilton, Ontario L8P 4V3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton > Downtown Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Hamilton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel is near Copps Coliseum, the Hamilton Convention Centre, Hamilton Place, Standard Life office tower, and government offices. Our hotel is between Toronto and Niagara Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Hamilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel Ontario
Hamilton Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing