We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Judge a Book by it's Cover!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Quality Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
OSHAWA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't Judge a Book by it's Cover!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was making a trip to Niagara Falls, New York and had been given a certificate to use at this hotel. As it was the half-way point, I figured I'd try it out. The check-in was ok, but it seems that they had some sort of sports groups checking in at the same time. As it was quite late when I arrived, I really wasn't expecting the lobby to be filled with nothing but screaming kids. After checking in, I went up to my room. I went into the washroom to freshen up and was horrified to see huge bugs climbing up the walls, holes in the walls, filth, etc. I immediately checked the bed and rest of the room. Again, as it was so late and the front desk staff looked more tired than enthused, I just bit the bullet and went to bed. The next morning before leaving, I decided to try their breakfast. Again, I had to deal with a room full of screaming kids. The food was scarce and what I did manage to get was cold. The breakfast lady was more than rude as well. I will NEVER stay here again nor will I ever recommend this place to anyone. From what I saw, they were more interested in making money than they were about putting any into fixing things or even customer satisfaction/service. One of the worst places I have ever stayed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClassyFreeSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Quality Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our sincere apology for the several issues with reference to your stay at our location. Clearly, we did not come close to meeting your expectations. Please feel free to contact me @ the hotel directly to discuss your experience if you wish.

Thank you,
Michael Regan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    62
    47
    16
    15
See reviews for
56
41
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a friend's recommendation - very nice sized, clean room and enjoyed the attached Golden Griddle for breakfast. Front desk was pleasant and helpful and we had a good night's sleep. Not a bad area at all. Would definitely come back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hl000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is nice overall and what I have come to expect of this brand. It is however, hard to find if you are unfamiliar with the area. I passed the entrance the first time by, but was able to find it when I turned around. The rooms are nice and the breakfast is good. I stayed there twice within a week. The first stay, I noticed one elevator seemed to be scraping and it was being fixed upon my return. The first time I stayed I had to have my key recoded twice since it was overly sensitive if I got it near my iPad, but the clerk was funny and very helpful. The second room I stayed in was a little more outdated than the first and the stairways need some TLC and brightening. Overall not a bad hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mncteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Bay, Ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in August 2013. We there for a baseball tournament. Hotel is clean, staff was friendly. Housekeeping was fantastic. Breakfast that they included with the stay was better than expected - milk, fresh yogurt, bacon, eggs, or sausages and omelettes, pancakes etc. Internet worked fine, lots of parking. Smoke-Free Hotel. Beds were comfy and the pillows were great. Bathroom was very very clean. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theromos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I'm a big fan of Holiday Inn Express - stayed at many over the last few years. This one, as another reviewer noted, is a little bit below their usual excellent standard. Hard to pin down exactly what it is about the place that lends that impression: the hallway ceilings seem unusually low, leading to a dark, cramped effect. They've done a bit of a slap-dash paint job on the room doors - you can see excess paint where someone should have done some taping and didn't. The room was fine. We were "upgraded" to a jacuzzi room with a queen bed...the tub was nice, I'll admit but we had reserved a room with a king bed. I think this upgrade was just an admission that they didn't have the room we'd asked for. Also, travelers should be aware that there is a garbage dump/transfer station around the corner and we could smell it from time to time while outside. Never while inside though.

Apart from that, still decent and we didn't regret staying there. Room was in good shape, didn't find it dated at all. Everything worked including the jacuzzi. A shelf in the bathroom needed minor repair, we advised the front desk upon departure. The included breakfast was good as always, staff very polite. All the other Holiday Inn Express locations I've stayed at have rated 5 stars, this one gets a 4. Still would stay there again, as the location suited our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elwood2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We picked this hotel partly because of the name and partly because of the location. Most Holiday Inn Express hotels are pretty updated and modern and you kind of expect a standard of accommodation. This one is not. The room is clean, but very dated. The furniture is from the 70's. Our first room smelled of strong stale cigarette smoke, and we asked for another room. The air coming from the second room AC was very musty. It stinks. When we asked about getting a new room to get away from the cigarette smell, the staff told us that they have been smoke free for 2 years but they still have several rooms that smell like cigarettes. They very graciously put us in a new room without question. The staff is very nice. Our second room just smells old. This hotel is tucked into an industrial area and near a highway. There is breakfast themed restaurant attached but not much else within walking distance. Fast food and other chain restaurants are within driving distance. I would stay elsewhere if I come back to Hamilton.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Greg C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online.

However, I am sorry to hear that you didn't find your room to your liking. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the dissatisfaction this has caused you and we deeply regret the inconvenience the smell has brought you. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable accommodations.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future and make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, FL
Level Contributor
204 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Located in the warehouse district between Hamilton and Stoney Creek, Ontario, this was a pleasant surprise at the end of a long day of travel. The room was clean and well cared for, the bed was comfortable, and they do have a free "continental style" breakfast. The staff was polite and professional. I'm not sure I would have found it without the GPS. The hotel is easily seen from the highway, but one has to drive "around the block" through the warehouse area to reach it. I will stay here again, the next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daytona_Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
Comfort Inn Hamilton
#12 of 20 in Hamilton
115 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hamilton
647 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#13 of 20 in Hamilton
474 reviews
Visitors Inn
#6 of 20 in Hamilton
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel

Property: Quality Hotel
Address: 49 Goderich Road | QEW & Centennial Parkway, Hamilton, Ontario L8E 4W8, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hamilton)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Hamilton is the perfect choice for business as well as leisure travellers due to its exceptional location, proximity to all the key area attractions and businesses, and modern onsite facilities. Travellers looking for family friendly Hamilton hotels would not find a better place to stay at with their kids during their visit to Ontario. Quality Hotel Hamilton is a non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Holiday Inn Hamilton
Hamilton Holiday Inn
Quality Hotel Hamilton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing