We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smells very badly”
Review of Quality Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The property had a strong urine odor while we were there. Other guests noticed this. Has items stolen from our car overnight. Not a pleasant stay. Would not recommend unless you need to be in the area. Other properties are nicer/cleaner/newer/cheaper.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tantalum129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear Tantalum129,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. I am very disappointed to hear of the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and would like to address your concerns in further details. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Quality Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 183 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

The hotel outside and in public areas is very nice and clean, the staff friendly. The location was nice, a bit off the beaten path. The room was comfy with nice furniture (the big TV and couch being useful) and a comfortable bed. The bathroom however looked old. Floor tiles were worn out, the grout cracked. The shower worked but seemed aged. Most noticeable was the hole in the ceiling paint, from which water condensation dripped after even short showers. I was there for two nights with my wife - I would consider staying in this hotel again, but would first consider other options.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew-Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear Andrew-Jay S,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room amenities, cleanliness and friendly staff.

However, It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on the bathroom. I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We will address these points. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

First impressions are important, but unfortunately this time they were also misleading. Walking into the lobby, I thought we had a nice place to stay. Got in the elevator and it was dirty, didn't think much of it. Walked into our room and it smelled. Not sure if it was of old smoke or what, but it was not pleasant. Thankfully I always bring fabric refresher, just in case. Sprayed the room down before we went to dinner and it seems to have helped. It is at least tolerable. Next issue is the bathroom. Long overdue for an overhaul. It looks dirty and worn. Not what I really want to use. We just left a Holiday Inn in Buffalo, that was great, so this is very disappointing. We are in the Hamilton area a few times a year for medical appointments, and we will be sure to pass this hotel on all future visits.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank HugeHabsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My, family vacationed from Charleston, S.C. area here and booked the room with Hotwire.com. We forgot to ask for a fold away/roll out bed for my daughter. After we checked in they were able to locate one for us. Upon checking out the front desk manager refused to charge it to us since "It would be more trouble". I could have paid in cash or credit to the hotel but he refused!!!
When we visit again we will stay here again for sure. And not just for the free bed.

Room Tip: Ask for the end room near the stairs they are quieter. Also on the weekend ALOT of wedding guest us...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here recently due to a baseball tournament and our preferred hotels were sold out.

First the positives: free parking, close to the highway and many shops and strip plazas, cheap rates.

Negatives:the staff and the hotel itself all seem to be tired of doing what they do. Rooms are fine - basic but in need of freshening up. Bathroom tiles need to be grouted. Paint chipped off of doorways and frames. No closet or mini-fridge in room. A/C turned off in hallways and on elevators (temp outside was 100F when we arrived). Staff do their jobs but are really going through the process more mechanically than with any genuine enthusiasm. I realize it is Hamilton and there is not too much to get excited about but a smile wouldn't hurt. The night before we stayed in the HI Express in Syracuse and they have posters on the walls of the elevator asking guests to rate their service and anything less than an "A" is a failure to them. Seems like they care. This HI Express gives the impression it doesn't. I am a rewards member but received no acknowledgment in any way...

Previous posters complained about the conditions of the area but it is not that bad. New plaza just opened up around the corner and there is a Golden Griddle restaurant next door. 5 minutes along Centennial Parkway there are a ton of places to shop and eat.

It seems like an odd place to have a hotel but if HI have gone to the trouble of building it at least try and make it work.

It would not take too much to make this a good choice to stay in Hamilton. Not sure if the will is there.....

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRNJ1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Only gripe I had here was that they could not provide a crib for my Grandson. Reception said they had only one in the entire hotel. So parents with young children should take note and bring a travel crib.
Our room was perfectly clean, the beds were comfortable. Bathroom small and clean but hey what do people expect. It's not the Ritz Carleton and is priced accordingly. I got plenty to eat at breakfast despite the restrictions of my gluten free diet. I had yoghurts, banana, and tea. For people on nonrestrictive diets there's lots of cereal, toast, etc. All you can eat.
We stayed 2 nights and would probably go back if we didn't want to pay for luxury.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabsauve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This hotel is just ok.... In my experience, and I travel quite a bit and frequently stay at Holiday Inn expresses. This Holiday Inn Express is sub par to the others I have stayed at. The Staff were ok, I was not greeted as a Gold Priority Club member like usual, and my room and card package was not ready.....this is not really a big deal, however the chain of hotels has set a high bar...and it is somewhat expected and nice. The room they put us is was not very good at all....it reeked of smoke! I asked to be moved and the staff was very accomadating. This room was clean and nice. The hotel is on the older side and pretty tired. We were here for a wedding, so we were not in our room for long. It did the job just fine. If you are looking for a really nice room you are going to be spending time in, this might not be the place for you. Breakfast in the morning was the standard Holiday Inn Express breaky...and it was great. This hotel was good for what we needed it to for. I would stay here again under the circumstances...there was not a lot of options in this area.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Bobby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear Bobby T,

Thank you for staying with us. As a Gold Elite member you are on of our most important guests. I apologize you were not greeted as such when you checked in. I'm glad to hear our staff was able to get you into another room quickly.

You comments are important to us and will be shared with the appropriate departments.

Thanks again,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
Comfort Inn Hamilton
#12 of 20 in Hamilton
124 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hamilton
701 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Hamilton Plaza Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Downtown Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#14 of 20 in Hamilton
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel

Address: 49 Goderich Rd | QEW & Centennial Parkway, Hamilton, Ontario L8E 4W8, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hamilton)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: $100 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Hamilton is the perfect choice for business as well as leisure travellers due to its exceptional location, proximity to all the key area attractions and businesses, and modern onsite facilities. Travellers looking for family friendly Hamilton hotels would not find a better place to stay at with their kids during their visit to Ontario. Quality Hotel Hamilton is a non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Holiday Inn Hamilton
Hamilton Holiday Inn
Quality Hotel Hamilton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing