We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cracking little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Quality Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Sunderland, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cracking little hotel”
Reviewed October 14, 2007

This hotel offers the standard HI Express offer, and is very well located next to the Queen Elizabeth Way and Centennial Parkway. The Confederation Park and Lake Ontario are a short walk/drive away.

The rooms are smallish, but well enough appointed, with good beds, and a very comfortable chair. There is also a very good continental breakfast available every day, and free drinks available at reception. There is a large car park (and that is really the only way of getting here) and the hotel is apparently very popular with sports tourists at the weekend. We found that it wasn't too busy, and breakfast was easy enough to get, even towards the end of the sitting.

There is no internet terminal, but I asked if there was any way I could check e-mails and was offered the office computer for a few minutes - fantastic service.

I would say the rooms are probably best for a couple rather than two couples, but ok enough for a couple of nights stay.

We enjoyed our visit, with friendly staff and customer-focused service, with a homely feel you wouldn't expect in a chain hotel of this type.

  • Liked — The fantastic service
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fubnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    62
    47
    16
    15
See reviews for
56
41
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2007

The hotel was just what we were going for - it provided a clean, cozy, room with a comfortable bed for the night. We picked a room with 1 queen sized bed and a pull-out sofa, in the belief that one of us could sleep on the sofa; however, it was quite uncomfortable as one could feel the metal springs pinching one's back. There was a warning that came with the pullout sofa - something along the lines of "Do not jump on sofa, springs may bend or break and cause personal injury". Quite scary and not such a great night's sleep, so we just upgraded our room to a 2-queen.
One mostly can't hear the noises going on in the hall, I only heard water running from the neighbor's room in the morning.
The bathroom was good, but I especially loved the shower head. It provided such a regulated control of water pressure, it was a pleasure to get wet even at 6 in the morning.
The free breakfast was a highlight for us, mainly because even after we ate and were all full, we still took about two trays of food with us just for the way. There were cereals, bagels, toast, cinnamon rolls, waffles, eggs, fruit, etc.
The service was very helpful in telling us about the tourist attractions and providing info about getting to Niagara Falls. No problems, the hotel was very well-kept, a good deal for the price.

  • Liked — Service, room preparation, free breakfast
  • Disliked — View of the parking lot or the highway, pull-out sofa didn't work well
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank alexchgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2007

As a frequent traveler, I've experienced ups and down with chain motels/hotels, so I was VERY pleased to find that the Hamilton HI Express is one of the better ones.

Desk staff was friendly and helpful with directions.

Our room was very clean, and the bed had a set of firm and soft pillows (the pillow cases were embroidered with the type of each pillow), which was an interesting detail.

The self-serve breakfast room is large, and the attendant was very prompt in cleaning/replenishing.

I'm surprised at the negative reviews of this hotel,those must have been isolated incidents. I'd stay again.

  • Liked — cleanliness, highway access location, price
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kcjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2007

we have had bad experiences with hotels, until i located this website. everything written about this hotel is true: great breakfast, clean, quiet even though it is very close to the qew, great price, helpful staff. the one thing we found a bit odd, was the
location. this did nothing to deter us from staying here, and we will
recommend this hotel to anyone going to hamilton.

  • Liked — the helpful staff
  • Disliked — the odd location
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mammatVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2006

I stayed in the Holiday Inn Express in Stoney Creek/Hamilton last October. We stayed here after flying into Hamilton airport in the evening, and planning on carrying on to Northern Ontario the next morning.

This hotel was ideal for just that, a quick stopover. Our room was clean...the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was great...the shower was incredible (it may have had something to do with being on a plane half the day)

The breakfast the next morning was the highlight...a clean comfortable breakfast room, with lots of choices...great before hitting the road.

There were restaurants close by, and coffe shops to hit before getting on the QEW which was seconds from the hotel.

I would not reccomend this hotel for a week long visit, but if your spending a night in Hamilton before moving on, it is ideal. It away from the traffic and business of the city center as well, so there isn't much traffic to get caught in (untill you get on the QEW)

A great stay for one night, all the same.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Shmiggly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2005

We stayed one night and although it was a little noisy (at least 2 youth hockey/football teams were staying there also), we thought the hotel was up to the usual Holiday Inn Express standard.
We liked:-
1. Modern hotel, convenient to QEW
2. Good sized room, everything in good condition and functioned satisfactorily.
3. Exceptional breakfast (Probably the best I've experienced on a complimentary basis)
4. Next door to a Golden Griddle Restaurant where we ate - although a little Denny-ish, it was nevertheless a good standard, competitvely priced.
We didn't like:-
1. The aircondition/heating unit - although switched off - droned on continuously. In fact, we had just arrived after a flight from England, and the noise was not dissimilar to that of the Boeing engines cruising at 35,000 feet !!
All-in-all we were more than happy with our stay. I would certainly be happy to recommend it to anyone looking for accommodation in the area.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank loseapoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2005

Stayed here for 2 days and it just wasn't up to the standards I was used to staying in other Holiday inn Express properties. This was the worst one I have seen and I have stayed at 12 or more locations.
The room was not clean and the sofa was very dirty and worn out, ready to be burned. My room did not get cleaned the first day, when I asked the front desk they said the girl had marked down that she had done my room, and was I sure. It's pretty obvious when I am out of Toilet paper and my bed isn't made etc.

The hotel is in an industrial area so it seems to have taken on an industrial look and feel. There was muddy workboots piled in the halls the whole time I was there. The whole hotel was a little dirtier than you would expect, but I suspect there main clientele is the industrial businesses nearby. Alot of general disrepair around the hotel, a little more than you would expect from the Holiday Inn properties.

The continental breakfast however was as good as always. They did have free parking but the property is in the middle of nowhere as far as Hamilton goes, but is close to the QEW.

I checked out and stayed at the Holiday inn Burlington which I found to be about the same distance from downtown Hamilton as this hotel was. A little more expensive, but worth it.

There isn't many hotels in Hamilton, not sure why. So maybe they can get away with this.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank craigyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
Comfort Inn Hamilton
#12 of 20 in Hamilton
115 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hamilton
648 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#13 of 20 in Hamilton
474 reviews
Visitors Inn
#6 of 20 in Hamilton
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel

Property: Quality Hotel
Address: 49 Goderich Road | QEW & Centennial Parkway, Hamilton, Ontario L8E 4W8, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hamilton)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Hamilton is the perfect choice for business as well as leisure travellers due to its exceptional location, proximity to all the key area attractions and businesses, and modern onsite facilities. Travellers looking for family friendly Hamilton hotels would not find a better place to stay at with their kids during their visit to Ontario. Quality Hotel Hamilton is a non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Holiday Inn Hamilton
Hamilton Holiday Inn
Quality Hotel Hamilton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing