We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Running around waterfalls”

Waterfalls of Hamilton
Ranked #6 of 156 things to do in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Running around waterfalls”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

There are so many waterfalls in the area that you can run past a dozen or so easily in a 2 hour run. We ran past 3 named and 6 smaller waterfalls yesterday without even planning to see waterfalls. With so many to choose from, it is most likely that you will be the only person there at any given time. The only negative is the long time it is taking the Conservation Authority to get the Webster's Falls stairs fixed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank coffeerunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    74
    16
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Indiana
Level Contributor
555 reviews
320 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Saw 5 of the 126!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I know, we didn't see very many but what we did see was fabulous! Their were too many other attractions in the area that we wanted to explore so time was a factor. I believe the waterfalls we went to were some of the best but not being from here I could be wrong. We saw Webster's,Tew's, Albion,Tiffany and Sherman falls. Actually we saw 6 but the Devil's Punch Bowl didn't have any water flowing. My personal favorite was Sherman falls followed by Albion,Webster's,Tew's and Tiffany. It is such a beautiful walk to get back to Sherman falls and it's in the middle of a residential area and a major street. Absolutely beautiful and you can get close. Albion was gorgeous as well and many people get to the bottom for an even greater view. Webster's and Tew's were wonderful as well but Tiffany's was a little bit harder to view. I know one thing, our camera's were working overtime to capture all this beauty! If you want check out the falls of Hamilton go to their website. You can see all 126 and they even put in the sixteen most popular. They also give you tons of information on each waterfall. If you love waterfalls this a great place to go and as this is part of the Niagara Escarpment you are not far from Niagara falls. One thing you need to know, most of the falls are free but if it's in a conservation area you will be asked to give 10 dollars for an all day event.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank terrsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great for a Daytrip to Escape the City!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Going to Hamilton to see the waterfalls and hike the Bruce Trail it's an amazing experience. So far, my favourite waterfall has been Tiffany, located in Ancaster, in the Tiffany Conservation Area. If you cross the road, you can hike from there to Sherman, Canterbury, and Heritage Falls. Near by you can find the Griffin House, Sulphur Springs Railway Station (not a real station but you can stop to use the washroom or buy something to eat) and The Hermitage ruins. Visiting the waterfalls is free but if you're driving you have to pay for parking. Also, get there early to avoid crowds, specially if you want to take pictures without people getting in the way.

In the Dundas section of the Bruce Trail you can find Webster's and Tews Falls (the best one) even though it didn't have a lot of water. There's also Devil's Punch Bowl but the hike to get there was very steep so I don't recommend it if you're not used to hiking. All in all, there's many waterfalls you can visit and hiking there is very enjoyable and relaxing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Albion is my favourite Hamilton destination so far”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Albion is a tad tricky to access but if you're fit with children old enough to clamber over some loose rocks and steep parts this is our absolute fave destination in summer - bring a picnic and some extra bags to pack out more garbage than you came with (a lot of debris washes over the falls and I like to leave places better than I found them if at all possible)
you can wade around in the ponds and hang out to admire the awesomeness - hiking down the river gets you to a trail back out eventually and it's a great way to spend an entire day

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TorontoCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing and free”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hamilton is the waterfall capital of Canada I believe so there are many to go and see! Many include fun walking/hiking trails.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Meredith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfalls of Hamilton also viewed

 

Been to Waterfalls of Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing