We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Nudist Resort”

Ponderosa Nature Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ponderosa Nature Resort
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have been members of this resort for a number of years and in fact spend most of the summer months visiting the club on a daily basis. We spend most of our visits lounging in and around the pool or soaking in the conversation pool/bar. It's a great place to get an all over tan. We find the prices for food and beverages reasonably priced, the management very accommodating, and the staff personable and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank moocDundas_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 28 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had the pleasure of attending the Ponderosa's nude music festival and was thoroughly impressed with everything! The grounds were beautiful even after a week of non-stop rain... the pools were warm and everyone was friendly. GREAT music and atmosphere. Can't wait until next year's event but will be back before then to enjoy all the great facilities here. Thanks for a great weekend, Ponderosa!

Room Tip: New cabins look like a great option ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dazzlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Not only did I witness someone who was apparently a manager, speak to other customers inside the club house as if they were bumbling idiots but I also overheard the owner speaking ill of people who were near the hot tub she was sitting in.
This is terribly unfortunate because the place is lovely.
The food is over priced and tasteless and you aren't allowed to bring a picnic with you.

Bare Oaks is a far better Nudist Resort for us even if it means driving a little further.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stopped in a week ago on a friday morning weather ws probably 27 and sunny I found the staff quite friendly welcoming and informative. As for the facilities the outdoor pool as well as the indoor pool were quite chilly (indoor pool was under some small reno but still useable) the outdoor hottub was also only lukewarm but the indoor hottub was very nice and hot Also Sauna was very good Facilities were very clean I ttok a walk around the grounds which was mainly a seasonal small cottage/trailrt type area and met a few locals who were also friendly
The resort was very quiet for a hot day though perhaps I will try on a weekend if i can get past the $38 day pass fee

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I will be back, but I do have one complaint, a day pass is far to expensive, I stopped in hoping to use a shower a few weeks ago and was told.....$36.00 , I got a shower in a carwash in downtown Milton for two bucks and could have showerred twenty of us.....ok turn around boys and girls.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We just spent three days and two nights at the Ponderosa Nature Resort. What a pleasant find - we just found their website and were able to get a room the same day we called. Everyone was very friendly ... the restaurant and dining service was outstanding. By no way is this a 5-star Caribbean party palace but it is a 4-star diamond in the rough. You just don't find this type of customer and dining service in nudist resorts in the Tri-state Michigan area. Every staff member was fabulous and we were treated like long lost family. A special order of banana pancakes was no problem ... red snapper with shrimp for dinner excellent ... cowboy steak was enough for two people. The food and drink prices were very reasonable and the portions plentiful.

The only reason this resort is rated 4 stars vs 5 stars is the resort is more like a B&B vs. a hotel meaning the nine guestrooms share a bathroom on the same floor. But being a nudist resort it isn't really a big deal if you see your neighbors on the way to the restroom nude or partially nude.

The majority of the guests were full or part-time residents in housing or trailers on site. The resort caters mostly to couples and families. We wouldn't suggest the resort for singles.

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank skydancer_2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

This was almost perfect. If I were to pick fault, I would say that the food choices could be better. Too much junk food for our tastes and difficult for vegetarians. Otherwise the facilities were clean and well-maintained and the staff friendly and helpful. If you've never stayed at a nudist resort before, this one would be a good start! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank W0lfshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
The Barracks Inn
#1 of 2 in Ancaster
100 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hamilton
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Osler House
#1 of 2 in Dundas
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponderosa Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponderosa Nature Resort

Address: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Hamilton
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ponderosa Nature Hotel Hamilton
Ponderosa Nature Resort Hamilton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing