We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little pricey”

Ponderosa Nature Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ponderosa Nature Resort
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stopped in a week ago on a friday morning weather ws probably 27 and sunny I found the staff quite friendly welcoming and informative. As for the facilities the outdoor pool as well as the indoor pool were quite chilly (indoor pool was under some small reno but still useable) the outdoor hottub was also only lukewarm but the indoor hottub was very nice and hot Also Sauna was very good Facilities were very clean I ttok a walk around the grounds which was mainly a seasonal small cottage/trailrt type area and met a few locals who were also friendly
The resort was very quiet for a hot day though perhaps I will try on a weekend if i can get past the $38 day pass fee

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

I will be back, but I do have one complaint, a day pass is far to expensive, I stopped in hoping to use a shower a few weeks ago and was told.....$36.00 , I got a shower in a carwash in downtown Milton for two bucks and could have showerred twenty of us.....ok turn around boys and girls.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We just spent three days and two nights at the Ponderosa Nature Resort. What a pleasant find - we just found their website and were able to get a room the same day we called. Everyone was very friendly ... the restaurant and dining service was outstanding. By no way is this a 5-star Caribbean party palace but it is a 4-star diamond in the rough. You just don't find this type of customer and dining service in nudist resorts in the Tri-state Michigan area. Every staff member was fabulous and we were treated like long lost family. A special order of banana pancakes was no problem ... red snapper with shrimp for dinner excellent ... cowboy steak was enough for two people. The food and drink prices were very reasonable and the portions plentiful.

The only reason this resort is rated 4 stars vs 5 stars is the resort is more like a B&B vs. a hotel meaning the nine guestrooms share a bathroom on the same floor. But being a nudist resort it isn't really a big deal if you see your neighbors on the way to the restroom nude or partially nude.

The majority of the guests were full or part-time residents in housing or trailers on site. The resort caters mostly to couples and families. We wouldn't suggest the resort for singles.

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank skydancer_2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

This was almost perfect. If I were to pick fault, I would say that the food choices could be better. Too much junk food for our tastes and difficult for vegetarians. Otherwise the facilities were clean and well-maintained and the staff friendly and helpful. If you've never stayed at a nudist resort before, this one would be a good start! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank W0lfshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2009

Mostly camping and a few motel rooms. The rooms are very small and average. Outside there are 2 pools. The smimming pool is large and cold. The conversation pool is great and has a swim up bar. There is a big hot tub outside and I hot tub inside. This is a nude resort. The people are very nice and there is above tennis courts and volleyball.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Williamwilliams79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
The Barracks Inn
#1 of 2 in Ancaster
93 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hamilton
714 reviews
Visitors Inn
#5 of 20 in Hamilton
233 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Hamilton Plaza Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponderosa Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponderosa Nature Resort

Address: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Hamilton
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ponderosa Nature Hotel Hamilton
Ponderosa Nature Resort Hamilton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing