We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent (coming from a hotel employee)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Guelph
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent (coming from a hotel employee)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

Before I start, I want to say that I work at a hotel in Toronto and I am also a Hotel Management student so I believe I have a very critical eye when it comes to service, cleanliness, and all the other stuff associated with hotels and the hospitality industry.

Check-in:
Quick, easy, painless. I came to the hotel around 3:15 or so and I was able to get my room righ away without any problems. The front desk agent was also very friendly. There isnt anything negative that I can say about the check in process.

Room (Standard room with 2 queen beds):
I work in housekeeping at a hotel, so within 30 seconds I can how clean a room is. I cannot fault anything in the cleanliness of the room. I really like the new, modern design. The high ceilings are a really great feature. It makes the rooms feel massive. Also the fact that the windows open up to the outside is great because I enjoy having them open for a little bit at night.

Check-out:
Again, quick, easy and painless. There wasnt any problems with the check-out process and the front desk agent (different person from when check-in) was nice and friendly.

Overall Service and impression:
Since I work in housekeeping, I chose not to have my room cleaned (I was staying 2 nights) because it was only me in the room and I didnt feel it was needed. I left the privacy sign on the door. I ended up getting a call from the housekeeping manager and asked if I did needed anything or if I needed my room cleaned. Also, on my last night, I got a call from a front desk agent to see how my stay was going and if I have any questions. I was very suprised by both calls. I did not expect that kind of service.

Overall I was impressed and will definetly return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank embrace12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboivingmdeltaguelph, General Manager at Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Thank you for the great feedback on your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate the detail and industry perspective you bring to the review. I will be sure to pass this on to the entire team at Delta Guelph. I look forward to welcoming you in Guelph again one day soon. Thanks again, Alan Boivin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    108
    25
    10
    8
See reviews for
77
70
23
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
221 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2010

Stayed one night. Check-in, check-out were very smooth. The room is average size but the 10-foot ceiling gives it a very roomy feel. Loved the mirrors in the vanity area and the large wall mirror. Now for the beds ... super comfortable with lots of pillows ! Thank you ! Also, there was no extra charge for parking as we were spending the night. We did notice meters for hourly parking.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belleamie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMDeltaDGU, Guest Service Manager at Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 12, 2010
I am pleased to read that you had a great sleep when staying with us. Delta Hotels is committed to providing a home away from home for our guests and by using our Sanctury beds we are able to do so. I hope that we have the opportunity to provide you with a great sleep again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

We are in Guelph for four days and are delighted to be staying in the Delta.As other reviewers have said the Hotel is spotless and has the most friendly staff you could imagine.An excellent business with free internet services and wireless connection in the bedrooms.While the hotel doesnt have its own pool we have free access to the athletic centre (which has a pool) located on the other side of the car park.The hotel is a very short taxi ride ( 12 Dollars for four last night)and within 15 mins walk to a very good shopping mall.
The beds are amazing .Why cant we have a bed like that !
If you are staying in the area I would strongly recommend you give the Delta a try.
Society

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank society
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

I stayed only one short night and wished I could have stayed longer. Room was large and comfy. King sized bed was exceptionally comfortable. Staff were friendly, helpful and respectful. It is a shame that there is not pool/hot tub.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tufa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

This is probably one of the best Delta hotels I have stayed in. The rooms were large with enough variation of sitting areas. I thought the bath tub choice was a bit odd since it didn't really fit into the aesthetics of the room nor were the unit air conditioners. I also found used tissue on the ground in the corner of the bathroom floor which understandably can be overlooked but nonetheless not satisfactory. Another quirk I noticed was that I set the room temperature to 23 degrees but every time the room was cleaned, the temperature would be set to 21. I felt my preference for comfort and consideration for the environment was not amenable for some reason. Internet access in the room was a big bonus and big desk space with proper task chairs makes working on the road much more comfortable. All in all, I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenmito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

I went to Guelph this past weekend with some friends for a Christmas party and needed a place to sleep.

After calling different hotels, I figured this would be the best deal since it is brand new, has a good name, and was only $20 more than the Ramada and Days Inn, which were running at $118 each (a little overpriced, don't you think?).

I checked in at 5 PM, and upon entering the lobby, knew the stay would be a good once. The front desk girl was very nice and it was quick and hassle free.

We got to our hotel room and were very excited. It was GORGEOUS, not to mention had a flat screen, probably 40 inch TV, down pillows/comforter/mattress covers, and the vanity area was very convenient.. i could shower and close the door, and my friend could still get ready and have use of the mirrors and sink. Huge closet. nice, big, full length mirror... just overall a gorgeous, modern room with two queen beds.

Very quiet stay, it was a Friday night but was extremely quiet. Woke up to the newspaper being delivered outside my door, the Globe & Mail, to be exact, which was a nice option.

The sleep was amazing, it honestly felt like sleeping on a cloud!

Amazing stay, would only ever go back to this hotel!

  • Liked — The beds and gorgeous furniture.
  • Disliked — nothing, everything was great
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank travelqueen_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2008

I moved away from Guelph in April of this year after living there for nearly 2 years, in that time many friends and family had visited and stayed in various hotels around town. Of all the ones I have been in it is by far the BEST. The location is excellent, close to shopping, food, the university, bus transportation,a $10 cab ride from downtown, and easily accessible from the 401. I returned to Guelph for a friends christmas party, after seeing the hotel being constructed I was very impressed by my first experience there ( I am sure there will be more), I was able to check in early ( 12pm) even though the hotel was busy with christmas parties, conventions and wedding parties. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We stayed in a room with a King Size bed, very comfortable! Everything was gorgeous, very clean and nicely kept. I LOVED the large mirrors excellent for getting ready for a night out! Bathroom area was well designed, pocket door makes it seem bigger.
I did not eat at the hotel, but I did have a couple of drinks at the bar, very good service, nice bartender, strong drinks.
Overall excellent hotel, We really enjoyed our stay, but the only draw back is parking. Parking is $9/ night- for a hotel in a mostly suburban area it is overpriced, look around before you pay for parking you might be surprised where you can park for free.
I was there during a very busy weekend so saying the hotel was noisy is an unfair assessment. I, myself was probably just as bad.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone traveling out of town don't waste your time looking around, the price is comparable to other locations and this place is much nicer ( if you need proof check out the place across the street, you will be happy with your decision). Also great for parents visiting university students right across the street from campus!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Worriedtraveler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guelph hotels
2.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Guelph
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Guelph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Guelph
Days Inn Guelph
#6 of 13 in Guelph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Guelph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: 50 Stone Rd W, Guelph, Ontario N1G 0A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Guelph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Guelph
#5 Family Hotel in Guelph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built to meet the needs of business / leisure travelers and local companies looking for larger meeting and banquet venues, the new Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre, a 148 deluxe room hotel, at the corner of Stone Road and Gordon Street. Located in the 12-hectare University of Guelph Research Park, across from the University of Guelph. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Hotel Guelph
Guelph Delta
Delta Guelph Hotel And Conference Centre Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing