We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best breakfast place, bar none” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eggcetra

Eggcetra
Ranked #55 of 382 Restaurants in Guelph
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best breakfast place, bar none”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Amazing selection of breakfast items and great quality. They have a huge selection of eggs, waffles, pancakes, crepes, omelets, skillets, french toasts and benedicts, making choosing what you actually want to have quite challenging. And that's not even counting the lunch menu - I didn't even look into that. Prices are a little bit steep for breakfast, but you definitely get your money's worth! Staff is very friendly, service is fast.

Make sure you come early, as the restaurant closes at 2 pm on most days. On weekends be prepared to wait up to 30 minutes, as they are frequently packed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    33
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rockwood, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The place to go for a Saturday Breakfast or Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Very reasonable price for a quick sandwich and a coffee. One of our favourites. Service is quick and good. Often there is a line up at the door, which is always a good sign, albeit somewhat frustrating when one is in a hurry.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank dukeofargy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

only have had breakfast here... always delicious.... space is cramped .. but thats my only compaint.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lovestoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Very excellent value and excellent food highly recommended and the they squeeze their own orange juice!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank emmindustries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great menu, great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Normally we would have breakfast at Angel's Diner, but having passed Eggcetra one day, we decided to try it as well. The breakfast menu was much more extensive, and the food was very good. I had the High Protein breakfast - three eggs, ham, bacon, and sausage. Truly a full meal (enough for breakfast and lunch!). Their substitution policy is confusing, however. On one place on the menu, it said flat out no substitutions. In other places, it said substitutions were permitted. For my choice, it was tomatoes and beans or nothing. I chose nothing (who eats tomatoes or beans for breakfast?). I added a cup of fruit, and the cost was still less than the hotel buffet. The service was good, coffee better than average, and the restaurant was clean and well maintained.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eggcetra also viewed

Guelph, Ontario
 

Been to Eggcetra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing