We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep up the good food, service and ambience. Go Bablefish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Babelfish Bistro - CLOSED

Babelfish Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $37
Cuisines: Canadian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Babelfish Bistro features "upscale comfort foods" served in a cozy urban room, accompanied by excellent service. Compliment your meal with wines from our exceptional selection, followed by decadent house made desserts. We are the perfect size for private gatherings of 25 to 40. Reserve online with the "Reservation Widget" on our web page up to 14 days in advance!
Region of Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Keep up the good food, service and ambience. Go Bablefish!”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We've been dining here at least once a year (three times a year when lucky) for the past 4 years at least.
We've only had one occasion to make a negative observation about anything here, and it was only about the complimentary bread, so nothing bad to say about Babelfish.

Our service and food has always been excellent.

How many restaurants do you go to where you clean up the last drop of sauce from your plate? Why pay similar prices for lousy food at "The Keg" when you can get "WOWED" here?

The menu doesn't change much, but the food is always, always something to write home about.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SWONTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    34
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One word: EXCELLENT!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

My husband and I had been eager to try Babelfish since seeing restaurant featured on the Food Network years ago and we recently got our chance.

The location - just a door or two down from a pool hall where clientele congregates on the street outside for smoke breaks - is a bit unfortunate, but once inside, that fades away.

We arrived a few minutes early for our 8pm reservation but were greeted courteously and promptly seated.

The restaurant decor was simple, classic and nice.

Everything we tried, from the wine, appetizers and main courses, was delicious. Portion sizes were larger than what I was expecting - in fact, I was unable to finish my main course (fettucine with jumbo shrimp) because the portion was so generous! We came away feeling as though we'd received good value for the money we paid.

Prior to going to Babelfish, we'd been told that it was "inconsistent" and that quality had slipped a bit in recent months, but we had no complaints and would return there again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Limonadita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great staff, food suffers, decor overdue”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

main complaint was, everything was over-salted. the decor while a restaurant makeover some 6 yrs ago and I would think some adjustments since and again due. this place needs a tuning up in the kitchen and up front.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank yakidelsur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Based on other reviews of this restaurant we decided to go there to celebrate our daughter's convocation. We were not disappointed...the food was excellent! It's a fairly small restaurant but not so small that you can still have an intimate dining experience. The decor is nothing special but it doesn't matter so much because the food is so good. Our waiter was very attentive and polite. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gingyNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than ever!”
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Had dinner with my co-workers on last friday night and was very impressed from start to finish; I have been to the Babel Fish Bistro several times before and have always enjoyed the experience, but this time exceeded my expectations. Our server reccomended the perfect wine and at his suggestion i tried the Grilled Marlin special, which was amazing. We were all very happy- Great food, great service, awesome experience. Thanks very much and I'll definitely be back again.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank porsche82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babelfish Bistro also viewed

Guelph, Ontario
Guelph, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing