We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One Of Guelph's Finest!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Other Brother's Restaurant and Lounge
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Since 1995 The Other Brother's has offered Guelph the best in dining and service. With great food, Prix Fixe menus and professional service, we present the premiere dining experience in the city.Join us for all your occasions from the everyday to the special moments. We have separate rooms available for Corporate and Private Events and Functions, including mini conferences and presentations.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One Of Guelph's Finest!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Every time we dine at this restaurant we're not disappointed. From the greeting at the door to the glass of port at the end of the meal all is wonderful. Excellent menu with great utilization of local ingredients!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    17
    5
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New Years Eve”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

A group of 8, decided to have our annual New Years Eve dinner at the Other Brothers. This restaurant had been a favorite of ours for a number of years and thought it would be a good choice for our friends and family. We were aware that it had been sold and taken over by new owners but thought we would give it a try. We had phoned ahead for reservations and knew that it would be two sittings 5:30 and 8:00, and that the menu was 3 courses with 3 choices for each course.
We arrived on time for our 8:00 reservation, seated right away, and then things began to go wrong. We had brought our own wine $20.00 corkage which we were aware of and it took 30 minutes for them to bring the wine. We ordered our appetizers which took 45 minutes to arrive and at that point were told that they had run out of one of main courses which 5 of us had ordered. Were told that they had let some people in at 5:00 and that was why they had run short. Offered a strip steak in place of the tenderloin and when the steak arrived it was cold and tough. When we complained told that this was the best they could do. One of the distinctions of this restaurant was the consistency, great presentation, and wonderful service.
Service was poor, presentation was not there, and it was one of the poorest meals I have had in a very long time. We will not be back and certainly would never again bring out of town guests. The reaction from management was that they had heard enough about our complaints. They did reduce the price and deferred the corkage but unfortunately it was an inadequate compensation for what was supposed to be a great evening for us all.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I didn't like much. Food was not that great yet was priced too high for what it was. Had the trio salad which had way too much dressing and nothing special. Had a seafood appy and again, not great.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Owner at The Other Brother's Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hey greentearocks,

Thank you very much for your review - sad to hear hat you didn't enjoy your experience dining with us. In regards to your salad, we do like to ensure there is enough dressing so that our guests experience the three different tastes in the appetizer. Apologies your food wasn't made to your tastes - in future we would recommend asking for light dressing or having it on the side.

We would be more than happy to hear more feedback in regards to your meal if you can take the time to email us - guelph.theotherbrothers@gmail.com. We take all feedback very seriously and I will discuss it with our chefs. We do look forward to seeing you back where we can hopefully make your meal exactly to your tastes. Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dinner with friends.”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Last night my husband and I dined here, the atmosphere was nice and it was cozy on a cold night. The staff were very friendly and left us plenty of time to chat with our friends before we ordered. Unfortunately the meal was just warm when served whereas I like my food hot. The restaurant was not busy so there was no reason for the meal not to have been prepared and served immediately. All the courses were very flavorful, and nicely presented..
I wasn't happy about what I consider a huge mark up on the wine. We ordered a bottle of Agento Malbec from Argentina which I buy and cost $10 a bottle at the LCBO and the list price at the restaurant was $42 which came to almost $50 with the tip we left.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geese1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Owner at The Other Brother's Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we do value it very much as it helps us continue to improve our dining experience.

I do apologize that you feel the wine was priced a little too high, however, we do price our wines so that they are in line with other restaurants in Guelph. We also offer a Corkage fee of $20 for those patrons that wish to bring their own bottle to dinner, which can make our overall cost a little more economical.

Finally, I have advised our kitchen about the temperature of your meal so that they can continue to improve and refine service. We do hope to see you back at The Other Brothers soon - please feel free to speak to myself (Amanda) or our General Manager Meghan so that we can help ensure our next visit with us is everything you expect it to be, and more.

Wishing you a happy holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erin, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“birthday dinner”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had a very nice quiet dinner here for my wife's birthday. the option of having the $39 three course meal using the menu is a very good idea. We will be going back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Owner at The Other Brother's Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hi Geoff,

Very glad you and your wife had a wonderful dinner for her birthday - we do try and make every occasion special for our guests. Here's to another wonderful and happy year for both of you and we look forward to seeing you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Other Brother's Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing