We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great spot ”

Samura Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #157 of 385 Restaurants in Guelph
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a great spot ”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

I stop in here at least once a month for lunch. The food is always bang on and the price is great for all ya can eat.

Everyone is always friendly and the restaurant is always clean.

Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    25
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Puslinch
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Easy Sushi”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I eat at Samura on a regular basis and I love their food, however, I stick with the vegetarian options. The service and food are always consistent and the prices are great.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PWSoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“All you can eat sushi in Guelph”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is the best all you can eat sushi restaurant in Guelph. Every time we're in Guelph we go to this place. The fish on the Nigiri sushi are good and just at the right temperature. the rice can sometimes be a little bit sour from the rice vinegar but still not over powering. they also have other selection like teriyaki , udon or soba. the staff are friendly and service is fast. we will be visiting this place again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trav2eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our favourite sushi in Guelph”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

For basic, decent sushi and other small Japanese dishes (edamame, seaweed salad, tempura) in an order-all-you-can-eat format, try to overlook the underwhelming exterior in the parking lot of a motel, and try Samura. The tatami room is nice for groups (with a foot well for inflexible Westerners) and service was fine. The beef and green onion rolls were nicely grilled, and tempura was hot and crispy. We'll go again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average, nothing special.”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We can say, Samura is not so special. I like the Restaurant interior, remind me of Japan, simple and traditional. We had AYE, the menu for AYE is plain. I may like their A la carte menu better. 

We like the seaweed salad, their portion was more than any other restaurant. The The 
avocado salad was yummy too, we like the dressing. 
The Miss soup was water down, tasteless so was the beef udon. 
We ordered sashimi, the cutting size was small. The roll was so plain, they don't put anything besides the main ingredients. For examples: we ordered mango shrimp rol, it was literally mango, shrimp and rice, nothing else. 
The food size was small. I hope their a la carte size would be different. 

The service was better and fast enough. 

The parking lot is kinda confusing, because their restaurant is located in the hotel area. 

Overall it's nothing special. Average. 
We may go back for the A la carte one day. They have slightly different menu than AYE. 

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bebeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samura Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Guelph, Ontario
Guelph, Ontario
 

Been to Samura Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing