We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic B&B in Guelph”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guelph
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
London House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Guelph B&B and Inns
Ont. Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic B&B in Guelph”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had the good fortune,to get a room at THE LONDON HOUSE in the lovely City of Guelph Ontario. We stayed on the ground floor in The Fireside Room. The room was warm and inviting with antique pieces and a well appointed ensuite. Melanie was a wonderful hostess and gave us directions and tips to the city. We walked around the park which happens to be just across the street after dinner. In the morning we met Andy and had a lovely conversation with him, while Melanie prepared the most scrumptious waffles. We visited the Farmer's Market and the Art Festival in the city core, andThe Church Of OUR LADY, before leaving for home. I highly recommend THE LONDON HOUSE as your home away from home while in Guelph, for friendly hospitality and a comfortable nights sleep,

Room Tip: We stayed on the main floor, the other rooms are up, so I didn't see them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissaC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
35
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santee, California
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is what a bed and breakfast is supposed to be. Even for those who are not B&B aficionados, this is a property worth considering. The proprietors, Melanie and Andy have worked a labor of love for the past 27+ years, and the house shows it. Built in the 1890s, it was originally the home of a prominent jurist, then passing through several hands, was a boarding house when the current owners bought it. The molding, windows covering, the art, the panels, the staircase, the furniture; all speak of a more elegant time. It is truly comfortable. There is a drawing room open 24/7 with coffee, tea, juices and water available. A delicious breakfast is made to order and served for a couple of hours each morning. Both proprietors are a wealth of local information. It is located just across the street from Exhibition Park, a wonderful place to stroll and close (5 - 10 minute walk) to downtown. If you like the elevators, pre-packaged breakfasts, uniform rooms and corporate amenities, this place may not be for you. If you want to feel like you're staying with family or friends, then London House is the place in Guelph. A special feature for families with kids: the third floor has three bedrooms, a full kitchen and a common bathroom.

Room Tip: The stairs to the second floor are fairly steep. The large room on the first floor is the easiest to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sflambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Our daughters found this b & b and gave us a 3 night stay for a gift. What a good choice. Andy greeted us warmly and showed us our beautiful room even if we were a bit early. What a magnificent home! The previous reviews said it all. Melanie even shared her oak cakes recipe. We have never tasted better poached eggs and wonderful homemade breads. The grounds were beautiful as well. Love the contraption for hot water for yea.

Room Tip: No pool but an excellent tub. :)))
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbf58_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

London House is a great big old home with lots of character across the road from a pleasant park. The bedrooms are large and nicely decorated with very comfortable beds and well-appointed bathrooms. The hosts - Andy and Melanie - are very accommodating, responsive and attentive to detail without being intrusive. Breakfast is excellent. If B and B is your thing, London House will not disappoint!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidschatzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed at the London House while attending a Medical Intuition course in Guelph. A friend and I had rooms on the third floor. The French Maid's and English Maid's rooms were very comfortable and the shared bathroom was near-by with tub/shower. Melanie and Andy are great hosts. An April ice storm left the windshield of the rental car covered with ice. But not a problem, Andy had it perfectly cleared off before we were to leave for class. The breakfasts' were delicious!! Eggs any style, buttermilk pancakes, waffles, Lemon scones, muffins, breads, and fresh fruit were just some of the choices! The specially roasted London House coffee blend was delicious!! If I had no other reason to return to Guelph, other than to stay at the London House, it would be worth the trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millie955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

London House has fabulous ambience, giving us the sense of stepping back to a more relaxed, slower Victorian era. Our room, the Master Suite with a large adjoining bathroom, was well appointed with antique furniture and a very comfy bed. Breakfast the next morning featured home-made breads, eggs done any-style, and the best fruit bowl I've had in a longtime. And like so many other reviewers, I found our hosts, Melanie & Andy, most gracious and accommodating of every little need.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snapper1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Myself and two other colleagues were visiting Guelph from America on a three day consulting engagement. Travel delays and an intense first day of work meant that we were over four hours late checking in. But when we finally arrived at 11:00PM, Melanie was still up waiting to greet us and show us to our rooms.

Her home-baked muffins and oatmeal cookies were to die for. And the conversation with Andy and her was a pure joy. The rooms were so comfortable, warm, and spacious. I can't imagine that their is a better place to stay in Guelph.

Room Tip: The front rooms upstairs have balconies with a fantastic view of the beautiful park across the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMNOMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guelph hotels
2.3 mi away
Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Guelph
Days Inn Guelph
#7 of 13 in Guelph
413 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Guelph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Royal Brock Hotel
Royal Brock Hotel
#8 of 13 in Guelph
303 reviews
4.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Guelph
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London House Bed and Breakfast

Property: London House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 80 London Rd W, Guelph, Ontario N1H 2B7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Guelph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Guelph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London House Bed and Breakfast is a restored 1893 award winning Victorian home in Guelph, Ontario, Canada where Melanie and Andy McLennan have been providing relaxed and comfortable accommodation for travelers to Guelph since 1988. We are close to the downtown, the River Run Centre of Performing Arts, the Guelph Sports and Entertainment Centre and the University of Guelph. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
London House Bed And Breakfast Guelph, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing