We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Gem in Guelph”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Buon Gusto

Buon Gusto
Ranked #2 of 381 Restaurants in Guelph
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Gem in Guelph”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were to Buon Gusto to celebrate a birthday last week, what a wonderful treat! The waitress was extremely knowledgeable about the entire menu and made recommendations on her faves. The appetizers and homemade wood fired pizzas rival true Italian delights from Roma!

It is best to make reservations as the place was packed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dpl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    154
    47
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food, service is hit or miss..”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I have visited Buon Gusto twice now.. once on a Thursday evening and again on a Saturday night.Atmosphere is wonderful.. this is a top notch renovation of a historical building in Guelph. The exposed stone wall is stunning.
Both times I visited the food was delicious. Very authentic. The pork belly was to die for, pizza was exceptional, and the calamari was great. Their wine list is also pretty decent.
The service the first night in was incredible. Our waitress, Kelly, was friendly, attentive and happy to give some advice selecting our pizza. The second night in (a Saturday night) was terrible, by far the worst service I've ever encountered in Guelph. We waited for a table for almost two hours, after being told we'd only need to wait 35 minutes... with many tables sitting open due to the poor organization of the hostess. No apologies offered at any time.
That being said, I will go back... especially when their new outdoor patio opens this summer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Guelph87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Upscale atmosphere, authentic food, excellent price!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

As a group of 25 family members, all from out of town, we were looking for a nicer place for dinner between a wedding ceremony and evening reception. Buon Gusto not only handled our reservation perfectly with three large tables in a semi-private area, but their waitstaff was gracious and attentive, getting every order right and hot to the table at the same time. With such a large group we managed to sample nearly the entire menu which had something for everyone and a very (wallet and palate) pleasing wine list. Items especially raved about: the wild mushroom manicotti, pizza margherita and the salads. We had several children with us ranging from infant to 12 years old and we felt welcome and comfortable. The open kitchen, large tables and sharing plates gave our experience a real family feel which we all appreciated. The restaurant was fully accessible - another bonus for our group. Thanks Buon Gusto!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MyraOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Vibe! Great Food!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great new addition to Guelph. Wonderful atmosphere, nice range on the wine list, great food and they even have gluten-free options. Gourmet pizza is exceptional and I return again and again for the arugula, goat cheese, beets and walnut salad . Great service. Cool vibe!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyMac857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza and great atmosphere”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had lunch at Gusto on Saturday and the Tuscan pizza was amazing! (pesto sauce, mushrooms, olives, articokes & peppers) also had the in house made Mushroom soup, very light and fresh tasting. We also enjoyed their house red, which was nicely priced. This place get's really busy and I can image dinner would be booked up for the weekends. Nice location downtown and great place to spend with friends! Wait staff was extremely pleasant and we will be back for dinner! Apparently they are hoping to have an outdoor patio, I'm sure they're waiting for the city's approval, but it will be a nice stop to sit outside for lunch or dinner

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Koda555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buon Gusto also viewed

 

Been to Buon Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing